

HR0355 LRB094 12072 HSS 45263 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

- 2 WHEREAS, First Mid-Illinois Bank & Trust celebrated its
- 3 140th anniversary on April 17, 2005; and
- WHEREAS, On April 17, 1865, President Lincoln signed bank
- 5 charter #1024 to establish the First National Bank of Mattoon;
- on May 1, 1865, the bank opened for business as the 25th
- 7 nationally chartered bank; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The First National Bank of Mattoon merged with
- 9 Mattoon National Bank to form the National Bank of Mattoon in
- 10 1910; in 1911, this new bank took over The Mattoon Trust
- 11 Company; and
- 12 WHEREAS, J. Stanley Weis was appointed President in 1945
- and held the position until 1953; M.F. Behrend was President
- from 1953 until 1956; and Melvin C. Lockard was President from
- 15 1956 until 1973; and
- 16 WHEREAS, In 1955, the bank purchased property between
- 17 Charleston and Wabash Avenues; in 1965, the building on
- 18 Charleston Avenue opened for business and the National Bank of
- 19 Mattoon was renamed First National Bank, Mattoon; and
- 20 WHEREAS, In the 1980s, shareholders of First National Bank,
- 21 Mattoon, founded First Mid-Illinois Bancshares, Inc.; Mattoon
- 22 Bank was acquired by First Mid-Illinois Bancshares Inc.; State
- 23 Bank of Sullivan, Cumberland County National Bank of Neoga,
- 24 First National Bank & Trust Company of Douglas County, and
- 25 Charleston Community Bank joined First Mid-Illinois; Mattoon
- 26 Bank consolidated with First National Bank of Mattoon; and a
- 27 banking facility was opened on Lakeland Boulevard; and
- WHEREAS, Daniel E. Marvin, Jr. was appointed President in
- 29 1983 and held the position until 1997; and

- WHEREAS, In the 1990s, First National Bank, Mattoon, State 1 2 Bank of Sullivan, Cumberland County National Bank of Neoga, First National Bank & Trust Company of Douglas County, and 3 4 Charleston Community Bank merged to form First Mid-Illinois Bank & Trust; Heartland Federal Savings & Loan joined First Mid-Illinois Bancshares, Inc. with the Charleston and Sullivan 6 7 offices merged with First Mid-Illinois; Downstate National Bank with offices in Altamont and Effingham merged with First 8 9 Mid-Illinois; the Arcola branch was opened; the Charleston 10 branch of First of American Bank and the Monticello, 11 Taylorville, and De Land branches of Bank One were acquired; and 12
- 13 WHEREAS, In 1999, Dan Marvin retired as Chairman and the 14 Board of Directors appointed Bill Rowland as Chairman and CEO 15 and John W. Hedges as President; and
- 16 WHEREAS, In the current decade, branches were opened in 17 Decatur, Champaign, and Maryville; American Bank with branches 18 in Highland and Pocahontas was acquired; The Checkley Insurance Agency, Inc. was acquired; and a second banking location in 19 20 Highland was opened; and
- WHEREAS, Division Heads and Executive Officers include 21 22 William S. Rowland, Chairman and CEO; John W. 23 President; Stanley E. Gilliland, EVP, Trust and Investment 24 Group; Michael L. Taylor, EVP & CFO; and Laurel G. Allenbaugh, 25 SVP & Cashier; the Board of Directors includes William S. 26 Rowland, Charles A. Adams, Kenneth R. Diepholz, Steven L. 27 Grissom, Richard A. Lumpkin, Daniel E. Marvin, Jr., Gary W. Melvin, Sarah J. Preston, R. Anthony Sparks, John W. Hedges, 28 29 and Joe Dively; Christie L. Wright is the Secretary to the 30 Board; therefore, be it

- 1 NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 2 we congratulate First Mid-Illinois Bank & Trust on the occasion
- of its 140th anniversary; and be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 5 presented to First Mid-Illinois Bank & Trust with our best
- 6 wishes for its continued success.