

HR0198

2.7

## LRB094 11667 HSS 43222 r

HOUSE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives of the State of Illinois wish to congratulate the 2004-2005 University of Illinois Fighting Illini men's basketball team on becoming the undisputed NCAA Big Ten Conference Champions, the team's first back-to-back Big Ten title since 1951-1952; and

WHEREAS, The Fighting Illini ended the regular season with a record of 29 wins and one loss, and were ranked the number one men's college basketball team in the country for 13 consecutive weeks; and

WHEREAS, The head coach of the Fighting Illini is second-year coach Bruce Weber; he became the first Big Ten basketball coach in history to win back-to-back outright conference titles in his first two seasons; and

WHEREAS, The team members of the Fighting Illini are Marcus Arnold of Chicago; James Augustine of Mokena; Calvin Brock of Chicago; Dee Brown of Maywood; Warren Carter of Dallas, Texas; Luther Head of Chicago; Jack Ingram of San Antonio, Texas; Rich McBride of Springfield; Fred Nkemdi of North Riverside; Roger Powell, Jr., of Joliet; Shaun Pruitt of Aurora; Brian Randle of Peoria; Nick Smith of Valrico, Florida; and Deron Williams of The Colony, Texas; and

WHEREAS, The coaches of the Fighting Illini are Head Coach
Bruce Weber, and Assistant Coaches Wayne McCLain, Jay Price,
Tracy Webster, and Gary Nottingham; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we congratulate the team members and coaches of the University of Illinois Fighting Illini men's basketball team on winning the Big Ten Conference Championship; and be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 2 presented to each of the coaches and members of the Fighting
- 3 Illini as a token of our respect and esteem and with our best
- 4 wishes for future success.