

HR0058 LRB094 05941 CSA 36434 r

HOUSE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives of the State of Illinois congratulate the United Red Storm football team on winning their first-ever state championship as they beat the Stockton Blackhawks 21-14 to win the Class 1A State Football Championship title on November 26, 2004; and

WHEREAS, United is a new consolidation of Warren and Alexis high schools; United completed their season with a 12-2 record and a new trophy to sport in their trophy case; and

WHEREAS, Leading the United Red Storm football team are head coach Tim Engebretson and assistant coaches Job Linboom, Ben McIntosh, Rick Johnson, and Steve Cairns; the principal of United is Lance Thurman and Dan Renwick is the athletic director; and

WHEREAS, The 2004 United Red Storm football members are Jack Duburg, Corey Rundle, Tyler Nelson, Aaron Gavin, Zach Youngquist, Jared VanFleet, Adam Hennenfent, Sean Bertelsen, Alex Fox, Brad Herron, Nicholas Hanson, Kyle Wagy, Stephen Eyler, Shawn Roller, Justin McQuire, Justin Haase, Michael Long, Greg McGraw, Drew Johnson, Drew Clevenger, Alex Corben, Terry Miller, Chuck Reynolds, Bryan Hahn, Corey Purlee, Eric Hanson, Brian Johnson, Ryan Condreay, Ryan Armstrong, Marshall Boney, Austin Cameron, Nathan Johnson, Billy Johnson, Kasey Lafferty, Tyler Schleich, Andrew Teague, William McCrery, Jay Grant, Levi Cox, Andy Yung, Jason Bishop, Josh Atwell, Andrew Scherfey, and Justin Fox; and

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; the team's win is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, and the

- 1 entire community at large; therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 3 NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 4 we recognize the talent of these young athletes and their
- 5 coaches and we congratulate them on their 2004 Class 1A State
- 6 Championship title; and be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 8 presented to United High School as an expression of our esteem
- 9 and with best wishes for continued success in the future.