

HR0045 LRB094 07127 CSA 37280 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION 2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of Representatives offer our sincere congratulations to the 3 4 Driscoll Catholic High School Highlanders football team on 5 winning the Class 3A State Championship on November 26, 2004; 6 and 7 WHEREAS, Driscoll Catholic High School, located in Addison 8 under the direction of the Diocese of Joliet, was first founded 9 under the Sisters of St. Francis and the Brothers of the 10 Christian Schools; and WHEREAS, This victory marks Driscoll's fourth straight 11 12 state championship; and 13 WHEREAS, Under Coach Tim Racki, the Highlanders defeated Bureau Valley High School in a well-fought battle at the 14 University of Illinois' Memorial Stadium; and 15 WHEREAS, With the support of Assistant Coaches Mike 16 Burzawa, Dan Cepek, Nick Gebhart, Dan 17 Paplaczyck, Loconsole, Brandon New, Joe Petro, Brian Wojton, and Bill 18 Erzig, Driscoll was victorious and reclaimed the state 19 championship; and 20 21 WHEREAS, Statistician Bob Crowe, Shawn Nykaza in charge of 22 film, and trainer Tricia Schank assisted the Highlanders in their journey to the state championship title; and 23 24 WHEREAS, We offer our congratulations to graduating 25 seniors Dustin Miller, Mike Conti, Ray Lao, Rick Albreski, Joe Laraia, Ryan Lesniak, Ryan Meyer, Joe Stapleton, Adam Glenn, 26 27 Eric Caldwell, Ryan Maritote, Danny Oliverio, Donny Grieco, Dan Jarach, and Joe Taylor who provided leadership to their 28

29

teammates; and

1

11

12

13

17

Jarach; and

- WHEREAS, The Highlanders football team also included Ryan 2 Palash, John Tranchitella, Kevin Letourneau, Phil Pedi, Shane Franken, Chris Nickola, Colin Peterman, Matt Tremback, Kyle 3 4 Jenkins, Matt Miller, Dominic Senese, Justin Nudo, Louie 5 Miceli, Croix Urcina, Mike Lotz, Nick Lombardo, Mike Redpath, Tom Monaghan, Nick Giacobbe, Danny Taylor, Casey Savatski, Ryan 6 7 Felde, Billy Moscatello, Mike Raimondi, Mike Fabrizi, Mike 8 Gainey, Kevin Palermo, Lino Novielli, Dave Schwabe, Steve 9 Rehder, John Stenzel, Ben Boffa, Patrick Carroll, Frank Amato, 10 Matt Boisacy, Mike Fennell, Sean Montividas, Jeff Turner, John
- 14 WHEREAS, The offensive team included Phil Pedi, Ryan Meyer, 15 Justin Nedo, Kyle Jenkins, John Tranchitella, Joe Taylor, Ben Boffa, Ryan Maritote, Jeff Turner, Danny Oliverio, and Dan 16

Fontano, Tony Rallo, and Eddie Loconte; and

Laurel, Phil Orzech, Mike Tabor, Jim Macshane, Jeff Eggert,

Anthony DiGrazia, Mike Echeverria, Kyle Vietzen, Dominic

- WHEREAS, The Highlanders' strong defense was lead by Kyle 18 Jenkins, Donny Grieco, Joe Stapleton, Ryan Maritote, Shane 19 Franken, Ryan Lesniak, Eric Caldwell, Justin Nudo, John 20 Tranchitella, Mike Redpath, and Joe Laria; and 21
- 22 WHEREAS, Ryan Meyer led the team this season with 16 23 touchdowns and rushed for 1087 yards; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Kicker Rick Albreski made 10 field goals this 25 season with his longest kick at 58 yards; and
- 26 WHEREAS, Sophomore quarterback Phil Pedi completed 11 of 19 passes for 106 yards in Driscoll's drive for victory; and 27
- WHEREAS, The experienced offensive line comprised of 28 tackles Dan Jarach and Ben Boffa, guards Ryan Maritote and 29

- 1 Danny Oliverio, and center Jeff Turner helped the Highlanders
- 2 successfully rush the football for 247 yards on 42 carries; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Superintendent Stephen Marth, Principal Fred
- 4 Muehleman, and Athletic Director Robert Carlson have worked
- 5 hard to continue the winning tradition of the athletic program
- 6 at Driscoll Catholic High School; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Campus Minister Laraine Parker guided the team
- 8 spiritually throughout the season; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The team had an excellent season with a regular
- season record of 7 wins and only 2 loses; and
- 11 WHEREAS, We recognize the accomplishment of these young
- 12 athletes and their coaches; therefore, be it
- 13 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 14 NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 15 we do hereby offer our congratulations to Coach Tim Racki and
- the members of the Driscoll Catholic High School Highlanders
- football team on winning the 2004 Class 3A State Championship
- 18 title; and be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 20 presented to Principal Fred Muehleman, Athletic Director Bob
- 21 Carlson, Coach Tim Racki, Driscoll Catholic High School, and
- the Highlanders State Championship team members.