

Rep. Lovana Jones

Filed: 3/1/2006

	09400HB4885ham007	LRB094 18448 RLC 56910 a
1	AMENDMENT TO HOUS	SE BILL 4885
2	AMENDMENT NO Amend H	House Bill 4885 by replacing
3	everything after the enacting clau	
4	"Section 5. The Cannabis Contr	ol Act is amended by changing
5	Section 10 as follows:	
6	(720 ILCS 550/10) (from Ch. 50	5 1/2, par. 710)
7	Sec. 10. (a) Whenever any pe	rson who has not previously
8	been convicted of, or placed on pr	cobation or court supervision
9	for, any offense under this Act or	any law of the United States
10	or of any State relating to cannak	ois, or controlled substances
11	as defined in the Illinois Contro	olled Substances Act, pleads
12	guilty to or is found guilty of vi	olating Sections 4(a), 4(b),
13	4(c), $5(a)$, $5(b)$, $5(c)$ or 8 of this	s Act, the court may, without
14	entering a judgment and with th	he consent of such person,
15	sentence him <u>or her</u> to probation <u>p</u>	oursuant to the terms of this
16	Section.	
17	(b) When a person is placed o	n probation, the court shall
18	enter an order specifying a perio	d of probation of <u>6 to 36</u> $\frac{24}{24}$
19	months, and shall defer further p	roceedings in the case until
20	the conclusion of the period or ur	ntil the filing of a petition
21	alleging violation of a term or cor	ndition of probation.
22	(c) The conditions of probati	on shall be that the person:

(1) not violate any criminal statute of any jurisdiction; (2)
 refrain from possession of a firearm or other dangerous weapon;

09400HB4885ham007 -2- LRB094 18448 RLC 56910 a

1 (3) submit to periodic drug testing at a time and in a manner as ordered by the court, but no less than 3 times during the 2 3 period of the probation, with the cost of the testing to be 4 paid by the probationer; and (4) perform no less than 30 hours 5 of community service, provided community service is available in the jurisdiction; and (5) for first time offenders and 6 others for whom the court deems it beneficial, attend a drug 7 school program, provided a drug school program is available. If 8 a drug school program is not available, the court shall seek 9 recommendations for treatment or other intervention by a 10 licensed program designated by the State to provide assessment 11 services to the courts and is funded and approved by the county 12 board. 13

14 (d) The court may, in addition to other conditions, require 15 that the person:

16 (1) make a report to and appear in person before or
17 participate with the court or such courts, person, or
18 social service agency as directed by the court in the order
19 of probation;

20

(2) pay a fine and costs;

(3) work or pursue a course of study or vocational
 training;

(4) undergo medical or psychiatric treatment; or
 treatment for drug addiction or alcoholism;

(5) attend or reside in a facility established for the
 instruction or residence of defendants on probation;

27

(6) support his dependents;

28 (7) refrain from possessing a firearm or other 29 dangerous weapon;

30 (7-5) refrain from having in his or her body the
31 presence of any illicit drug prohibited by the Cannabis
32 Control Act, the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or the
33 Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act,
34 unless prescribed by a physician, and submit samples of his

or her blood or urine or both for tests to determine the 1 2 presence of any illicit drug; 3 (7-6) undergo treatment under the supervision of a licensed program designated by the Department of Human 4 5 Services, and according to the terms of Article 40 of the Alcoholism and Other Drug Abuse and Dependency Act; 6 (8) and in addition, if a minor: 7 8 (i) reside with his parents or in a foster home; 9 (ii) attend school; (iii) attend a non-residential program for youth; 10 (iv) contribute to his own support at home or in a 11 foster home. 12 (d-1) In addition to any other criminal or administrative 13 sanction for any second conviction of violating Section 4(a), 14 4(b), 4(c), 5(a), 5(b), 5(c) or 8 of this Act or a similar law 15 of another state or of the United States committed within 5 16 years of a previous violation of Section 4(a), 4(b), 4(c), 17 5(a), 5(b), 5(c) or 8 of this Act or a similar law of another 18 state or of the United States, the defendant shall be sentenced 19 to a mandatory minimum of 5 days of imprisonment or assigned a 20 mandatory minimum of 40 hours of community service as may be 21 22 determined by the court. (d-2) In addition to any other criminal or administrative 23 sanction for any third conviction of violating Section 4(a), 24 25 4(b), 4(c), 5(a), 5(b), 5(c) or 8 of this Act or a similar law 26 of another state or of the United States committed within 5 years of a previous violation of Section 4(a), 4(b), 4(c), 27 28 5(a), 5(b), 5(c) or 8 of this Act or a similar law of another 29 state or of the United States, the defendant shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of 10 days of imprisonment or assigned a 30 mandatory minimum of 80 hours of community service as may be 31 determined by the court. 32 33 (d-3) Whenever any person who has previously been convicted of, or placed on probation or court supervision for, any 34

offense under this Act or any law of the United States or of 1 any state relating to cannabis or controlled substances pleads 2 3 guilty to or is found guilty of possession of cannabis under this Act, that person also may be required to undergo (i) an 4 5 assessment conducted by a licensed program designated by the State to provide assessment services to the courts to determine 6 7 if an alcohol, drug, or intoxicating compound abuse problem exists and the extent of the problem, and (ii) a professional 8 mental health screening, and undergo the imposition of 9 treatment as appropriate. Whenever the professional evaluation 10 or mental health screening recommends remedial or 11 rehabilitative treatment or education, the court may monitor 12 compliance with any remedial education or treatment 13 recommendations contained in the professional evaluation or 14 mental health screening. Assessments or screenings under this 15 subsection (d-3) shall be conducted by an agent independent of 16 any treatment provider to which the person may be referred. 17

(d-4) In addition to any other criminal or administrative 18 sanction for any fourth or subsequent conviction of violating 19 Section 4(a), 4(b), 4(c), 5(a), 5(b), 5(c) or 8 of this Act or 20 21 a similar law of another state or of the United States within 5 22 years of a previous violation of Section 4(a), 4(b), 4(c), 5(a), 5(b), 5(c) or 8 of this Act or a similar law of another 23 state or of the United States, the court may also order the 24 25 defendant to participate in a treatment intervention 26 consistent with his or her clinical and supervisory needs, including but not limited to supervision under Article 40 of 27 the Alcoholism and Other Drug Abuse and Dependency Act or 28 29 supervision under the Drug Court Treatment Act.

30 (e) Upon violation of a term or condition of probation, the 31 court may enter a judgment on its original finding of guilt and 32 proceed as otherwise provided.

33 (f) Upon fulfillment of the terms and conditions of 34 probation, the court shall discharge such person and dismiss 09400HB4885ham007

1 the proceedings against him.

(g) A disposition of probation is considered to be a 2 3 conviction for the purposes of imposing the conditions of 4 probation and for appeal, however, discharge and dismissal 5 under this Section is not a conviction for purposes of disqualification or disabilities imposed by 6 law upon 7 conviction of a crime (including the additional penalty imposed 8 for subsequent offenses under Section 4(c), 4(d), 5(c) or 5(d) of this Act). 9

(h) <u>(Blank)</u>. Discharge and dismissal under this Section,
 Section 410 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or
 Section 70 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community
 Protection Act may occur only once with respect to any person.

14 (h-1) A sentence of probation under this Section is 15 immediately expungeable upon the successful completion of the 16 probation.

(i) If a person is convicted of an offense under this Act, the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act within 5 years subsequent to a discharge and dismissal under this Section, the discharge and dismissal under this Section shall be admissible in the sentencing proceeding for that conviction as a factor in aggravation.

24 (j) A person is not eligible for a disposition of probation 25 under this Section if he or she has during the course of the act giving rise to the offense under Section 4(a), 4(b), 4(c), 26 5(a), 5(b), 5(c) or 8 of this Act committed any violation of 27 Section 5.1, 5.2, or 7 of this Act, any violation of Section 28 401, 405, 405.1, 405.2, 405.3, 406, 406.1, 407, 407.1, 407.2, 29 or 408 of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, any violation 30 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act 31 involving the manufacture, delivery, or possession with intent 32 33 to deliver of methamphetamine or a methamphetamine precursor, or any offense that is a violent crime under the Rights of 34

09400HB4885ham007

1

1 <u>Crime Victims and Witnesses Act.</u>

2 (Source: P.A. 94-556, eff. 9-11-05.)

3 Section 10. The Illinois Controlled Substances Act is4 amended by changing Section 410 as follows:

5 (720 ILCS 570/410) (from Ch. 56 1/2, par. 1410)

6 Sec. 410. (a) Whenever any person who has not previously 7 been convicted of, or placed on probation or court supervision for any offense under this Act or any law of the United States 8 of any State relating to cannabis or controlled substances, 9 pleads guilty to or is found guilty of possession of a 10 controlled or counterfeit substance under subsection (c) of 11 12 Section 402, the court, without entering a judgment and with 13 the consent of such person, may sentence him or her to probation pursuant to the terms of this Section. 14

(b) When a person is placed on probation, the court shall enter an order specifying a period of probation of <u>6 to 36</u> 24 months and shall defer further proceedings in the case until the conclusion of the period or until the filing of a petition alleging violation of a term or condition of probation.

(c) The conditions of probation shall be that the person: 20 (1) not violate any criminal statute of any jurisdiction; (2) 21 22 refrain from possessing a firearm or other dangerous weapon; 23 (3) submit to periodic drug testing at a time and in a manner 24 as ordered by the court, but no less than 3 times during the period of the probation, with the cost of the testing to be 25 26 paid by the probationer; and (4) perform no less than 30 hours 27 of community service, provided community service is available in the jurisdiction; and (5) for first time offenders and 28 29 others for whom the court deems it beneficial, attend a drug school program, provided a drug school program is available. If 30 31 a drug school program is not available, the court shall seek recommendations for treatment or other intervention by a 32

09400HB4885ham007

licensed program designated by the State to provide assessment 1 services to the courts and is funded and approved by the county 2 3 board. 4 (d) The court may, in addition to other conditions, require 5 that the person: (1) make a report to and appear in person before or 6 7 participate with the court or such courts, person, or 8 social service agency as directed by the court in the order of probation; 9 (2) pay a fine and costs; 10 11 (3) work or pursue a course of study or vocational training; 12 13 (4) undergo medical or psychiatric treatment; or treatment or rehabilitation approved by the Illinois 14 15 Department of Human Services; 16 (5) attend or reside in a facility established for the instruction or residence of defendants on probation; 17 (6) support his dependents; 18 (6-5) refrain from having in his or her body the 19 20 presence of any illicit drug prohibited by the Cannabis 21 Control Act, the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, or the 22 Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act, unless prescribed by a physician, and submit samples of his 23 or her blood or urine or both for tests to determine the 24 25 presence of any illicit drug; 26 (6-6) undergo treatment under the supervision of a licensed program designated by the Department of Human 27 28 Services, and according to the terms of Article 40 of the 29 Alcoholism and Other Drug Abuse and Dependency Act; (7) and in addition, if a minor: 30 31 (i) reside with his parents or in a foster home; 32 (ii) attend school; 33 (iii) attend a non-residential program for youth; (iv) contribute to his own support at home or in a 34

foster home. 1 (d-1) In addition to any other criminal or administrative 2 3 sanction for any second conviction of violating subsection (c) of Section 402 or a similar law of another state or of the 4 5 United States committed within 5 years of a previous violation of subsection (c) of Section 402 or a similar law of another 6 7 state or of the United States, the defendant shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of 5 days of imprisonment or assigned a 8 mandatory minimum of 40 hours of community service as may be 9 determined by the court. 10 (d-2) In addition to any other criminal or administrative 11 sanction for any third conviction of violating subsection (c) 12 of Section 402 or a similar law of another state or of the 13 United States committed within 5 years of a previous violation 14 of subsection (c) of Section 402 or a similar law of another 15 state or of the United States, the defendant shall be sentenced 16 to a mandatory minimum of 10 days of imprisonment or assigned a 17 mandatory minimum of 80 hours of community service as may be 18 19 determined by the court. 20 (d-3) Whenever any person who has previously been convicted 21 of, or placed on probation or court supervision for, any 22 offense under this Act or any law of the United States or of any state relating to cannabis or controlled substances pleads 23 guilty to or is found guilty of possession of a controlled 24 25 substance under this Act, that person also may be required to 26 undergo (i) an assessment conducted by a licensed program designated by the State to provide assessment services to the 27 courts to determine if an alcohol, drug, or intoxicating 28 29 compound abuse problem exists and the extent of the problem, and (ii) a professional mental health screening, and undergo 30 the imposition of treatment as appropriate. Whenever the 31 professional evaluation or mental health screening recommends 32 33 remedial or rehabilitative treatment or education, the court may monitor compliance with any remedial education or treatment 34

1 recommendations contained in the professional evaluation or 2 mental health screening. Assessments or screenings under this 3 subsection (d-3) shall be conducted by an agent independent of 4 any treatment provider to which the person may be referred.

5 (d-4) In addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction for any fourth or subsequent conviction of violating 6 7 subsection (c) of Section 402 or a similar law of another state or of the United States within 5 years of a previous violation 8 of subsection (c) of Section 402 or a similar law of another 9 10 state or of the United States, the court may also order the 11 defendant to participate in a treatment intervention consistent with his or her clinical and supervisory needs, 12 including but not limited to supervision under Article 40 of 13 the Alcoholism and Other Drug Abuse and Dependency Act or 14 15 supervision under the Drug Court Treatment Act.

16 (e) Upon violation of a term or condition of probation, the 17 court may enter a judgment on its original finding of guilt and 18 proceed as otherwise provided.

(f) Upon fulfillment of the terms and conditions of probation, the court shall discharge the person and dismiss the proceedings against him.

(g) A disposition of probation is considered to be a conviction for the purposes of imposing the conditions of probation and for appeal, however, discharge and dismissal under this Section is not a conviction for purposes of this Act or for purposes of disqualifications or disabilities imposed by law upon conviction of a crime.

(h) (Blank). There may be only one discharge and dismissal
under this Section, Section 10 of the Cannabis Control Act, or
Section 70 of the Methamphetamine Control and Community
Protection Act with respect to any person.

32 (h-1) A sentence of probation under this Section is 33 immediately expungeable upon the successful completion of the 34 probation.

(i) If a person is convicted of an offense under this Act, 1 the Cannabis Control Act, or the Methamphetamine Control and 2 Community Protection Act within 5 years subsequent to a 3 4 discharge and dismissal under this Section, the discharge and 5 dismissal under this Section shall be admissible in the sentencing proceeding for that conviction as evidence in 6 7 aggravation.

8 (j) A person is not eligible for a disposition of probation under this Section if he or she has during the course of the 9 10 act giving rise to the offense under Section 402 of this Act committed any violation of Section 5, 5.1, 5.2, 7, or 8 of the 11 Cannabis Control Act, any violation of Section 401, 405, 405.1, 12 405.2, 405.3, 406, 406.1, 407, 407.1, 407.2, or 408 of this 13 Act, any violation of the Methamphetamine Control and Community 14 Protection Act involving the manufacture, delivery, or 15 possession with intent to deliver of methamphetamine or a 16 methamphetamine precursor, or any offense that is a violent 17 crime under the Rights of Crime Victims and Witnesses Act. 18 (Source: P.A. 94-556, eff. 9-11-05.) 19

20

Section 15. The Methamphetamine Control and Community 21 Protection Act is amended by changing Section 70 as follows:

- 22 (720 ILCS 646/70)
- Sec. 70. Probation. 23

24 (a) Whenever any person who has not previously been 25 convicted of, or placed on probation or court supervision for 26 any offense under this Act, the Illinois Controlled Substances 27 Act, the Cannabis Control Act, or any law of the United States or of any state relating to cannabis or controlled substances, 28 29 pleads guilty to or is found guilty of possession of less than 30 15 grams of methamphetamine under paragraph (1) or (2) of subsection (b) of Section 60 of this Act, the court, without 31 32 entering a judgment and with the consent of the person, may

1 sentence him or her to probation pursuant to the terms of this 2 Section.

3 (b) When a person is placed on probation, the court shall 4 enter an order specifying a period of probation of 6 to 36 24 months and shall defer further proceedings in the case until 5 the conclusion of the period or until the filing of a petition 6 alleging violation of a term or condition of probation. 7

8

9

10

(c) The conditions of probation shall be that the person:

(1) not violate any criminal statute of anv jurisdiction;

(2) refrain from possessing a firearm or other 11 dangerous weapon; 12

13 (3) submit to periodic drug testing at a time and in a manner as ordered by the court, but no less than 3 times 14 15 during the period of the probation, with the cost of the testing to be paid by the probationer; and 16

(4) perform no less than 30 hours of community service, 17 if community service is available in the jurisdiction; and 18 19 and is funded and approved by the county board.

20 (5) for first time offenders and others for whom the 21 court deems it beneficial, attend a drug school program, 22 provided a drug school program is available. If a drug school program is not available, the court shall seek 23 recommendations for treatment or other intervention by a 24 25 licensed program designated by the State to provide 26 assessment services to the courts.

27 (d) The court may, in addition to other conditions, require that the person take one or more of the following actions: 28

29 (1) make a report to and appear in person before or 30 participate with the court or such courts, person, or 31 social service agency as directed by the court in the order of probation; 32

33

(2) pay a fine and costs;

34

(3) work or pursue a course of study or vocational

1 training; (4) undergo medical or psychiatric treatment; or 2 3 treatment or rehabilitation approved by the Illinois 4 Department of Human Services; 5 (5) attend or reside in a facility established for the instruction or residence of defendants on probation; 6 (6) support his or her dependents; 7 8 (7) refrain from having in his or her body the presence of any illicit drug prohibited by this Act, the Cannabis 9 Control Act, or the Illinois Controlled Substances Act, 10 unless prescribed by a physician, and submit samples of his 11 or her blood or urine or both for tests to determine the 12 13 presence of any illicit drug; (7-5) undergo treatment under the supervision of a 14 licensed program designated by the Department of Human 15 Services, and according to the terms of Article 40 of the 16 Alcoholism and Other Drug Abuse and Dependency Act; or 17 (8) if a minor: 18 19 (i) reside with his or her parents or in a foster 20 home; 21 (ii) attend school; 22 (iii) attend a non-residential program for youth; 23 or 24 (iv) contribute to his or her own support at home 25 or in a foster home. 26 (d-1) In addition to any other criminal or administrative sanction for any second conviction of violating this Act or a 27 28 similar law of another state or of the United States committed 29 within 5 years of a previous violation of this Act or a similar law of another state or of the United States, the defendant 30 31 shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of 5 days of imprisonment or assigned a mandatory minimum of 40 hours of 32 33 community service as may be determined by the court. (d-2) In addition to any other criminal or administrative 34

1 sanction for any third conviction of violating this Act or a
2 similar law of another state or of the United States committed
3 within 5 years of a previous violation of this Act or a similar
4 law of another state or of the United States, the defendant
5 shall be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of 10 days of
6 imprisonment or assigned a mandatory minimum of 80 hours of
7 community service as may be determined by the court.

8 (d-3) Whenever any person who has previously been convicted of, or placed on probation or court supervision for, any 9 offense under this Act or any law of the United States or of 10 any state relating to cannabis or controlled substances pleads 11 guilty to or is found guilty of possession of methamphetamine 12 13 under this Act, that person also may be required to undergo (i) an assessment conducted by a licensed program designated by the 14 15 State to provide assessment services to the courts to determine if an alcohol, drug, or intoxicating compound abuse problem 16 exists and the extent of the problem, and (ii) a professional 17 mental health screening, and undergo the imposition of 18 treatment as appropriate. Whenever the professional evaluation 19 health screening recommends 20 or mental remedial or 21 rehabilitative treatment or education, the court may monitor 22 compliance with any remedial education or treatment recommendations contained in the professional evaluation or 23 24 mental health screening. Assessments or screenings under this 25 subsection (d-3) shall be conducted by an agent independent of 26 any treatment provider to which the person may be referred.

(d-4) In addition to any other criminal or administrative 27 sanction for any fourth or subsequent conviction of violating 28 29 this Act or a similar law of another state or of the United States within 5 years of a previous violation of this Act or a 30 31 similar law of another state or of the United States, the court may also order the defendant to participate in a treatment 32 33 intervention consistent with his or her clinical and supervisory needs, including but not limited to supervision 34

<u>under Article 40 of the Alcoholism and Other Drug Abuse and</u>
 <u>Dependency Act or supervision under the Drug Court Treatment</u>
 <u>Act.</u>

4 (e) Upon violation of a term or condition of probation, the
5 court may enter a judgment on its original finding of guilt and
6 proceed as otherwise provided.

7 (f) Upon fulfillment of the terms and conditions of 8 probation, the court shall discharge the person and dismiss the 9 proceedings against the person.

10 (g) A disposition of probation is considered to be a 11 conviction for the purposes of imposing the conditions of 12 probation and for appeal, however, discharge and dismissal 13 under this Section is not a conviction for purposes of this Act 14 or for purposes of disqualifications or disabilities imposed by 15 law upon conviction of a crime.

(h) <u>(Blank).</u> There may be only one discharge and dismissal
under this Section, Section 410 of the Illinois Controlled
Substances Act, or Section 10 of the Cannabis Control Act with
respect to any person.

20 (h-1) A sentence of probation under this Section is 21 immediately expungeable upon the successful completion of the 22 probation.

(i) If a person is convicted of an offense under this Act,
the Cannabis Control Act, or the Illinois Controlled Substances
Act within 5 years subsequent to a discharge and dismissal
under this Section, the discharge and dismissal under this
Section are admissible in the sentencing proceeding for that
conviction as evidence in aggravation.

(j) A person is not eligible for a disposition of probation under this Section if he or she has during the course of the act giving rise to the offense under this Act committed any violation of Section 5, 5.1, 5.2, 7, or 8 of the Cannabis Control Act, any violation of Section 401, 405, 405.1, 405.2, 405.3, 406, 406.1, 407, 407.1, 407.2, or 408 of the Illinois

1	Controlled Substances Act, any violation of this Act involving
2	the manufacture, delivery, or possession with intent to deliver
3	of methamphetamine or a methamphetamine precursor, or any
4	offense that is a violent crime under the Rights of Crime
5	Victims and Witnesses Act.
6	(Source: P.A. 94-556, eff. 9-11-05.)".