Transportation and Motor Vehicles Committee

Filed: 3/8/2005





09400HB0960ham001 LRB094 03666 DRH 42775 a


2     AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend House Bill 960 by replacing
3 everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4     "Section 5. The Illinois Vehicle Code is amended by adding
5 Section 12-604.1 as follows:
6     (625 ILCS 5/12-604.1 new)
7     Sec. 12-604.1. Video devices.
8     (a) A person may not operate a motor vehicle if a
9 television receiver, a video monitor, a television or video
10 screen, or any other similar means of visually displaying a
11 television broadcast or video signal that produces
12 entertainment or business applications is operating and is
13 located in the motor vehicle at any point forward of the back
14 of the driver's seat, or is operating and visible to the driver
15 while driving the motor vehicle.
16     (b) This Section does not apply to the following equipment
17 when installed in a vehicle:
18         (1) a vehicle information display;
19         (2) a global positioning display;
20         (3) a mapping display;
21         (4) a visual display used to enhance or supplement the
22     driver's view forward, behind, or to the sides of a motor
23     vehicle for the purpose of maneuvering the vehicle;
24         (5) television-type receiving equipment used



09400HB0960ham001 - 2 - LRB094 03666 DRH 42775 a

1     exclusively for safety or traffic engineering studies; or
2         (6) a television receiver, video monitor, television
3     or video screen, or any other similar means of visually
4     displaying a television broadcast or video signal, if that
5     equipment has an interlock device that, when the motor
6     vehicle is driven, disables the equipment for all uses
7     except as a visual display as described in paragraphs (1)
8     through (5) of this subsection (b).
9     (c) This Section does not apply to a mobile, digital
10 terminal installed in an authorized emergency vehicle, a motor
11 vehicle providing emergency road service or roadside
12 assistance, or to motor vehicles utilized for public
13 transportation.
14     (d) A person convicted of violating this Section is guilty
15 of a petty offense and shall be fined not more than $100 for a
16 first offense, not more than $200 for a second offense within
17 one year of a previous conviction, and not more than $250 for a
18 third or subsequent offense within one year of 2 previous
19 convictions.
20     (625 ILCS 5/12-604 rep.)  (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 12-604)
21     Section 10. The Illinois Vehicle Code is amended by
22 repealing Section 12-604.".