

Sen. Doris Turner

Filed: 3/8/2024

lacing
ded by
401.1)
Medical
ing to
is a
stance
Act of
fied to
use to
of the
stance

Program and who is unable to pay for his or her care in the facility without Medical Assistance only if:

(1) the facility, no later than at the time of 3 admission and at the time of the resident's contract 4 5 renewal, explains to the resident (unless he or she is incompetent), and to the resident's representative, and to 6 the person making payment on behalf of the resident for 7 8 the resident's stay, in writing, that the facility may discharge the resident if the resident is no longer able 9 10 to pay for his or her care in the facility without Medical 11 Assistance:

12 (2) the resident (unless he or she is incompetent), 13 the resident's representative, and the person making 14 payment on behalf of the resident for the resident's stay, 15 acknowledge in writing that they have received the written 16 explanation<u>;-</u>

17 <u>(3) the facility provides notice to the resident and</u> 18 <u>to the resident's representative that the resident's</u> 19 <u>Medicare coverage will likely end in 10 days. This</u> 20 <u>notification shall specify that the resident shall not be</u> 21 <u>required to move under this Section until these 10 days</u> 22 <u>are up.</u>

(a-10) For the purposes of this Section, a recipient or applicant shall be considered a resident in the facility during any hospital stay totaling 10 days or less following a hospital admission. The Department of Healthcare and Family 10300SB3256sam001 -3- LRB103 39314 RPS 70840 a

1 Services shall recoup funds from a facility when, as a result 2 of the facility's refusal to readmit a recipient after hospitalization for 10 days or less, the recipient incurs 3 4 hospital bills in an amount greater than the amount that would 5 have been paid by that Department (formerly the Illinois 6 Department of Public Aid) for care of the recipient in the 7 facility. The amount of the recoupment shall be the difference 8 between the Department of Healthcare and Family Services' 9 (formerly the Illinois Department of Public Aid's) payment for 10 hospital care and the amount that Department would have paid 11 for care in the facility.

12 (b) A facility which violates this Section shall be guilty 13 of a business offense and fined not less than \$500 nor more 14 than \$1,000 for the first offense and not less than \$1,000 nor 15 more than \$5,000 for each subsequent offense.

16 (Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07.)".