

HR0744

LRB103 40504 MST 72976 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the Okawville High School 4 girls basketball team, the Lady Rockets, on winning the 5 2023-24 Illinois High School Association (IHSA) Class 1A Girls 6 Basketball Championship for the second year in a row; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Rockets defeated the Illini Bluffs at
Redbird Arena on the campus of Illinois State University on
March 2, 2023 with a commanding final score of 48 to 36; and

10 WHEREAS, The Lady Rockets win over the Illini Bluffs 11 earned them their fourth girls state basketball championship, 12 having previously hoisted the trophy in 1994, 2000, and 2023; 13 and

14 WHEREAS, The Lady Rockets finished the season with a 15 record of 25 and 11, having handed losses to the St. Bede 16 Bruins in the semifinals and the Goreville Blackcats in the 17 Class 1A Okawville Super-Sectional; and

18 WHEREAS, The Lady Rockets are led by Head Coach Haylee 19 Bowers and Assistant Coaches Mike Frederking and Paige Kasten; 20 and

HR0744 -2-LRB103 40504 MST 72976 r 1 WHEREAS, The Lady Rockets basketball team includes seniors 2 Adysen Harre, Alayna Kraus, Maggie Sawicki, Raelyn Obermeier, 3 Madisyn Wienstroer, and Mallory Bening, junior Jenna Hackstadt, sophomores Caroline Tepe, Brecklyn Rennegarbe, and 4 5 Carly Schmidt, and freshmen Brynn Rhodes, Kenley Hackstadt, Addison Hasheider, Jilien Harre, and Schae Juenger; therefore, 6 7 be it

8 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 9 HUNDRED THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 10 we congratulate the Okawville High School girls basketball 11 team, the Lady Rockets, on winning the 2023-24 Illinois High 12 School Association (IHSA) Class 1A Girls Basketball Championship, and we wish the team many more successful 13 seasons; and be it further 14

15 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 16 presented to Head Coach Haylee Bowers as an expression of our 17 esteem and respect.