

HR0378

LRB103 33722 ECR 63534 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the Illinois District 17 4 All-Stars softball team on winning the Senior Little League 5 World Series on August 6, 2023; and

6 WHEREAS, Illinois District 17, of the central region, 7 defeated defending champion Texas, of the southwest region, 8 five to four to win the title in Sussex County, Delaware; and

9 WHEREAS, The team is comprised of towns that encompass the 10 central Illinois area, with the team being based out of 11 Beardstown; and

12 WHEREAS, The team players include Mia Volpert of 13 Springfield, Taryn Griffith of Chatham Glenwood, Vanessa Nunez of Beardstown, Aspen Kitowski of Pleasant Plains, Ava Wombles 14 15 of Pleasant Hill, Caitlin Bunte of Quincy Notre Dame, Audrey Gilman of Hardin Calhoun, Emma Henry of Pittsfield, Grace 16 Henry of Pittsfield, Mylee Tracy of Concord Triopia, Cora 17 18 Ellison of Glasford Illini Bluffs, Kylie Robinson of Macomb, 19 Kaydi Miller of Havana, Jaylynn Sarnes of Havana, and Italee 20 Ford of Rushville-Industry; and

21 WHEREAS, The team coaches include head coach Tom Orr of

HR0378 -2- LRB103 33722 ECR 63534 r
Beardstown and assistant coaches Richard Henry and William
Robinson of Franklin and Shawna Robinson of Macomb; and

3 WHEREAS, The journey to win this championship was long, 4 but the team sustained a perfect record, going six and zero on 5 the road to the Senior League Softball World Series Title, 6 defeating West 7 to 3, Southwest 11 to 1, Canada 3 to 2, 7 Europe-Africa 16 to 1, Latin America 16 to zero, and West 9 to 8 zero; therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 10 HUNDRED THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 11 we congratulate the Illinois District 17 All-Stars softball 12 team on winning the Senior Little League World Series and wish 13 them the best of luck on their future endeavors; and be it 14 further

RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be presented to the coaches and players of the Illinois District 17 17 All-Stars softball team as an expression of our respect for a truly remarkable year.