

HR0359

LRB103 33118 LAW 62925 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, It is imperative that residents of Illinois be 3 informed of the rules regarding Driving Under the Influence 4 (DUI), as presented in the Illinois Vehicle Code under 625 5 ILCS 5/11-500.1; and

6 WHEREAS, A person guilty of committing a DUI includes 7 anyone driving under the influence of alcohol, other 8 intoxicating drugs or compounds, or any combination thereof; 9 and

10 WHEREAS, A person convicted of driving or being in 11 physical control of any vehicle while under the influence of 12 any of the compounds mentioned above within the State of 13 Illinois has committed a Class A misdemeanor; and

14 WHEREAS, A person who is convicted of committing a DUI is 15 subject to six months of imprisonment, an additional mandatory 16 minimum fine of \$1,000, and, under special circumstances, 25 17 days of community service in a program benefiting children; 18 and

19 WHEREAS, This law extends to drivers who are under the 20 influence while behind the wheel of any vehicle even while it 21 is parked; and 1 WHEREAS, Many Illinois residents may be unaware that the 2 law prohibits them from sitting behind the wheel of a parked 3 vehicle while under the influence, and such persons will 4 undoubtedly wish to not suffer the consequences of breaking 5 such a law; therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 7 HUNDRED THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 8 we encourage the State of Illinois to embark on an educational 9 campaign to inform Illinois residents of the law prohibiting 10 drivers from sitting behind the wheel of any parked vehicle 11 while under the influence of an intoxicant even if the driver 12 has no intention of driving it.

HR0359