

HR0006

LRB103 06050 LAW 51080 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate Edgar County on the 4 occasion of its 200th anniversary; and

5 WHEREAS, Edgar County was formed in 1823 and named for 6 John Edgar, one of its first judges and an Irish-born officer 7 in the British Royal Navy who resigned rather than fight 8 against Americans in the Revolutionary War; and

9 WHEREAS, Even before its organization, the region of Edgar 10 County played an important role in the history of Illinois and 11 the nation; in 1765, a famous treaty was agreed upon by Ottawa 12 Chief Pontiac and British representative George Croghan in a 13 formal peace council near Palermo or Hickory Grove in 14 Edgar County; the treaty ended the most northwestern threatening Native American uprising against the British 15 16 following the French and Indian War; today, historical markers 17 in Edgar County commemorate this critical event in history; 18 and

19 WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln also had a strong connection to 20 Edgar County, as it was one of 14 counties in central Illinois 21 on the 8th Judicial Circuit that young Lincoln, in company of 22 other lawyers and judges, traveled on horseback to provide a

HR0006 -2-LRB103 06050 LAW 51080 r court of law in county seats in the spring and fall from 1842 1 2 to 1853; records show that Lincoln was engaged in 45 cases 3 during his circuit riding days in the county; in 2017, the county was recognized as an official Looking for Lincoln site 4 5 by the Looking for Lincoln Heritage Coalition (LFLHC) and is now encompassed in the Abraham Lincoln National Heritage Area 6 7 (ALNHA); and

8 WHEREAS, In more recent history, Edgar County has been 9 home to a Nobel Prize winner, a Congressional Medal of Honor 10 winner, a comedy film series star, one of the nation's first 11 female brigadier generals, and a country music star; and

12 WHEREAS, Edgar County encompasses a total area of 624 13 square miles in east central Illinois, includes the Cities of 14 Chrisman and Paris, the Villages of Brocton, Hume, Kansas, 15 Metcalf, Redmon, and Vermilion, 10 unincorporated communities, 16 and 15 townships, and is currently home to nearly 17,000 17 Illinoisans; therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 19 HUNDRED THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 20 we congratulate Edgar County on its bicentennial and honor the 21 achievements of its citizens and its role in Illinois and U.S. 22 history; and be it further HR0006 -3- LRB103 06050 LAW 51080 r 1 RESOLVED, That we wish Edgar County another 200 years of 2 success; and be it further

3 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 4 presented to Edgar County as an expression of our esteem and 5 respect.