

## 102ND GENERAL ASSEMBLY State of Illinois 2021 and 2022 SB3717

Introduced 1/21/2022, by Sen. Doris Turner

## SYNOPSIS AS INTRODUCED:

65 ILCS 5/11-74.4-4.3 new

Amends the Tax Increment Allocation Redevelopment Act of the Illinois Municipal Code. Provides that a municipality shall, within 30 days of adoption of an ordinance establishing a redevelopment project area, create an economic and community development commission. Provides for each commission to consist of 9 members appointed by the mayor of the municipality and members appointed by school districts, county boards, park districts, townships, community college boards, water reclamation districts or sanitary districts, and other taxing districts within the redevelopment project area. Provides that each commission shall review and approve the use of all funds from the special tax allocation fund for redevelopment projects and, if the members of the commission disagree, the majority opinion shall be understood as the commission's approval or denial of the use of such funds.

LRB102 25754 AWJ 35080 b

1 AN ACT concerning local government.

## Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, represented in the General Assembly:

- Section 5. The Illinois Municipal Code is amended by adding Section 11-74.4-4.3 as follows:
- 6 (65 ILCS 5/11-74.4-4.3 new)
- Sec. 11-74.4-4.3. Economic and community development commission. Within 30 days of adoption of an ordinance
- 9 <u>establishing a redevelopment project area, the municipality</u>
- shall create an economic and community development commission.
- 11 The commission shall consist of the following members, who
- shall serve a 3-year term and may only serve 3 consecutive
- 13 terms:
- 14 <u>(1) Nine members appointed by the mayor with the</u>
  15 advice and consent of the city council. Of these members,
- one member shall be from the construction industry, one
- member shall be from the financial industry, and one
- 18 <u>member shall be from the real estate industry and 2</u>
- 19 <u>members shall reside or work within the redevelopment</u>
- 20 project area. The remaining members shall be selected at
- 21 <u>large from residents of the municipality.</u>
- (2) One member appointed by a majority of all school
- districts within the redevelopment project area.

1	(3) One member appointed by a majority of all county
2	boards of each county within the redevelopment project
3	area.
4	(4) One member appointed by a majority of all park
5	district boards of trustees within the redevelopment
6	project area.
7	(5) One member appointed by a majority of all township
8	boards of trustees within the redevelopment project area.
9	(6) One member appointed by a majority of all
10	community college boards of trustees within the
11	redevelopment project area.
12	(7) One member appointed by a majority of all county
13	water reclamation district boards of trustees or county
14	sanitary district boards of trustees within the
15	redevelopment project area.
16	(8) One member appointed by a majority of all the
17	boards of all other taxing districts not mentioned in
18	paragraphs (1) through (7).
19	If the majority of the boards of a group of taxing
20	districts in paragraphs (2) through (8) cannot reach a
21	consensus concerning their appointment, no member shall
22	represent those taxing districts on the commission until a
23	majority of the boards can agree.
24	The commission shall review and approve the use of all
25	funds from the special tax allocation fund for redevelopment
26	projects. If members of the commission disagree, the majority

- opinion shall be understood as the commission's approval or
- denial of the use of funds.