1 AN ACT	concerning health.
----------	--------------------

2	Ве	it	enacted	by	the	People	of	the	State	of	Illinois,
3	represe	nte	d in the	Gene	eral A	Assembly	/ :				

- Section 5. The Illinois Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act is amended by adding Section 21.5 as follows:
- 6 (410 ILCS 620/21.5 new)
- 7 Sec. 21.5. Default beverage for children's meals.
- 8 (a) In this Section:
- 9 "Children's meal" means a combination of food items sold

 10 for a single price intended for consumption by children.
- "Default beverage" means a beverage automatically included

 as part of a children's meal absent a specific request by the

 purchaser of the children's meal for an alternative beverage.
- "Restaurant" has the same meaning provided in Section 21.4
 of this Act.
- 16 <u>(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a</u>
 17 <u>restaurant shall, by default, include one of the following</u>
 18 <u>default beverages with a children's meal sold by the</u>
 19 restaurant:
- 20 <u>(1) water with no added natural or artificial</u>
 21 sweeteners;
- 22 (2) sparkling water with no added natural or artificial sweeteners;

26

1	(3) flavored water with no added natural or artificial
2	sweeteners;
3	(4) nonfat or 1% milk with no added natural or
4	artificial sweeteners;
5	(5) nondairy milk alternatives:
6	(A) with no added natural or artificial
7	sweeteners;
8	(B) containing no more than 130 calories per
9	container or serving as offered for sale; and
10	(C) meeting the standards for the National School
11	Lunch Program as set forth in 7 CFR 210.10; or
12	(6) 100% fruit or vegetable juice or juice combined
13	with water or carbonated water, with no added sweeteners,
14	in a serving size of no more than 8 ounces.
15	(c) A restaurant may include a beverage with a children's
16	meal that is not listed under subsection (b) upon request.
17	(d) A beverage listed or displayed on a restaurant menu or
18	advertisement for a children's meal shall be one of the
19	default beverages listed in subsection (b).
20	(e) During any inspection of a restaurant by a health
21	officer or health inspector of a local health department, the
22	health officer or health inspector shall inspect the
23	restaurant to determine whether it complies with this Section.
24	(f) A restaurant that violates this Section is subject to:
25	(1) a warning for a first offense;

(2) a civil penalty of \$25 for a second offense; and

1	(3) a civil penalty of \$100 for a third or subsequent
2	offense.
3	A local public health director, or his or her designee,
4	may charge and collect the civil penalties under this
5	subsection.
6	(g) The Department of Public Health may adopt any rules it
7	deems necessary for the implementation, administration, and
8	enforcement of this Section.