

102ND GENERAL ASSEMBLY State of Illinois 2021 and 2022 SB0295

Introduced 2/19/2021, by Sen. Cristina Castro

SYNOPSIS AS INTRODUCED:

305 ILCS 70/95-501

Amends the Intergenerational Poverty Act. Provides that the Commission on Poverty Elimination and Economic Security shall have 2 members of the judiciary (rather than a member of the judiciary or a designee) who shall be appointed by the Chief Justice of the Illinois Supreme Court. Effective immediately.

LRB102 10937 KTG 16269 b

1 AN ACT	concerning	public	aid.
----------	------------	--------	------

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, represented in the General Assembly:

- Section 5. The Intergenerational Poverty Act is amended by changing Section 95-501 as follows:
- 6 (305 ILCS 70/95-501)

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

2.3

- Sec. 95-501. The Commission on Poverty Elimination and Economic Security.
- 9 (a) Establishment. The Commission on Poverty Elimination 10 and Economic Security is established.
 - (b) Purpose. The purpose of the Commission is to:
 - (1) Inform the public policy making process by:
 - (i) Improving policymakers' understanding of the root causes of poverty and economic insecurity, including contributing social, economic, and cultural factors and the reasons that poverty and economic insecurity persist in this State.
 - (ii) Expanding policymakers' understanding of poverty by distinguishing a standard that measures a level of freedom from deprivation from a standard that measures economic security provided by a living wage and access to a livable standard of living.
 - (iii) Educating policymakers on the impact poverty

has	on	other	mea	sures	of	econ	omic	stak	oility	and
econo	omic	outco	mes,	inclu	ıding	edu	catior	nal a	attainme	ent,
rates	s of	incar	cerat	cion,	life	time	earni	ngs,	access	to
healt	th d	care,	healt	th ca	re o	utcor	mes,	and	access	to
housi	ing.									

- (2) Support governmental efforts to ensure that residents of this State have equal opportunity to achieve economic security.
- (3) Reduce and ultimately eliminate poverty in this State by making policy and other recommendations to the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of this State.
- (c) Membership. The Commission shall consist of the following members:
 - (1) Four members of the General Assembly, one each appointed by the President of the Senate, the Minority Leader of the Senate, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and the Minority Leader of the House of Representative.
 - (2) <u>Two members</u> A member of the judiciary or a designee who shall be appointed by the Chief Justice of the Illinois Supreme Court.
 - (3) Twenty members of the public appointed under subsection (d) representing stakeholders as follows:
 - (i) Two representatives, one of whom shall represent an organization that focuses on rural

26

1	poverty and one of whom shall represent an
2	organization that focuses on urban and suburban
3	poverty.
4	(ii) Two individuals who have experienced deep
5	poverty.
6	(iii) One representative of an organization that
7	advocates for health care access, affordability, and
8	availability.
9	(iv) One representative of an organization that
10	advocated for individuals with mental illness.
11	(v) One representative of an organization that
12	advocates for children and youth.
13	(vi) One representative of an organization that
14	advocates for equity and equality in education.
15	(vii) One representative of an organization that
16	advocates for individuals who are homeless.
17	(viii) One representative of a Statewide
18	antihunger organization.
19	(ix) One representative of an organization that
20	advocates for military veterans.
21	(x) One representative of an organization that
22	advocates for individuals with disabilities.
23	(xi) One representative of an organization that
24	advocates for immigrants.
25	(xii) One representative of a Statewide

faith-based organization that provides direct social

1 services in this State.

2	(xiii) One representative of an organization that
3	advocates for economic security for women.
4	(xiv) One representative of an organization that
5	advocates for older adults.
6	(xv) One representative of a labor organization
7	that represents primarily low-wage and middle-wage
8	earners.
9	(xvi) One representative of school districts in
10	this State.
11	(xvii) One representative of county governments in
12	this State.
13	(xviii) One representative of municipal
14	corporation governments in this State.
15	(4) The members of the workgroup shall serve as
16	nonvoting ex officio members of the Commission.
17	(d) Appointment. The following shall apply:
18	(1) The public members of the Commission under
19	paragraph (3) of subsection (c) shall be appointed as
20	follows:
21	(i) Four shall be appointed by the Governor.
22	(ii) Four shall be appointed by the President of
23	the Senate.
24	(iii) Four shall be appointed by the Minority
25	Leader of the Senate.
26	(iv) Four shall be appointed by the Speaker of the

- 1 House of Representatives.
- 2 (v) Four shall be appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives.
 - (2) It shall be determined by lot which appointing authority appoints which public members to the Commission.
 - (3) The appointed members shall reflect the racial, gender, and geographic diversity of this State and shall include representation from regions of this State experiencing economic insecurity and the highest rates of deep poverty.
 - (4) Public members of the Commission shall be selected for service on the Commission within 45 days after the effective date of this Act.
 - (e) Qualifications. Each member of the Commission must have been a resident of this State for a period of at least one year immediately preceding appointment and must continue residence in this State during the member's tenure of service on the Commission.
 - (f) Organizational meeting. The organizational meeting of the Commission shall take place after all members are appointed but no later than 60 days after the effective date of this Act.
- 23 (g) Compensation. Members shall serve without
 24 compensation, but public members may be reimbursed for
 25 reasonable and necessary travel expenses connected to
 26 Commission business.

- 1 (h) Commission chairperson. The representatives of the
- 2 antipoverty organizations appointed under subparagraph (i) of
- 3 paragraph (3) of subsection (c) shall serve as cochairs of the
- 4 Commission.
- 5 (i) Committees. The Commission may establish subcommittees
- 6 to address specific issues or populations and may collaborate
- 7 with individuals with relevant expertise who are not members
- 8 of the Commission to assist the subcommittee in carrying out
- 9 its duties.
- 10 (j) Meetings. The full Commission shall meet at least once
- 11 annually.
- 12 (k) Quorum. A majority plus one of the voting members
- 13 shall constitute a quorum.
- 14 (1) Voting. All actions of the Commission and any
- 15 subcommittees established by the Commission shall be approved
- 16 by a majority vote of the Commission or subcommittee as
- 17 applicable.
- 18 (m) Open meetings. The meetings of the Commission shall be
- 19 conducted in accordance with the provisions of Section 2 of
- 20 the Open Meetings Act.
- 21 (n) Administrative support. The Department of Human
- 22 Services shall provide staff and administrative support to
- assist the Commission in carrying out its duties.
- 24 (Source: P.A. 101-636, eff. 6-10-20.)
- 25 Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon
- 26 becoming law.