

HR1038 LRB102 30145 LAW 42386 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

21

of Illinois 2 WHEREAS, The members the House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the East St. Louis Senior 4 High School football team, the Flyers, on winning the 2022 5 Illinois High School Association (IHSA) Class 6A State 6 Football Championship on November 26, 2022; and 7 WHEREAS, The Flyers captured another football state 8 championship, the program's 10th overall and its third since 9 2016, with a dominating 57-7 win over Crystal Lake's Prairie 10 Ridge High School football team, the Wolves, at Memorial Stadium on the University of Illinois campus in Champaign; and 11 12 WHEREAS, The Flyers scored the most points ever in a Class 13 6A title game, breaking the old record of 56 set by Naperville 14 Central High School in 1999; and WHEREAS, The Flyers dominated the 2022 football season, 15 outscoring their opponents 523 to 64; and 16 17 WHEREAS, The 2022 East St. Louis Flyers are Leontre 18 Bradford, Sael Reyes, Christopher Bennett, John Marquise Palmer, Taryan Martin, Justin Price, Jaion Jackson, 19 20 Robert "Pops" Battle, Jesse Watson, Marlyn Jones,

Tillman, Charles Bass, Rico Bond, Maleek Perkins, Caiden

- 1 Rogers, Dj Miller, Austin Franklin, Leon Howard, Antwon
- 2 Hayden, Bryce Harrison, Jamil Thomas, Vinaz Cobb, Larevious
- 3 Woods, Ryan Pelly, Dillon Turner, Orlando Fridge, Andrew
- 4 Bownes, Dominic Dixon, Jamil Thomas, Keshawn Hayden, Shamon
- 5 Hamilton, Timothy Pitts, DaRyus Mayo, Mytrell Tillman, Miles
- 6 McVay, Paris Patterson Jr., Kerwin Williams Jr., Mekhi
- 7 McDowell, Brandon Henderson, Marquell Robinson, Terran
- 8 Scarbrough, and Keandre McClendon; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The Flyers are led by Head Coach Darren Sunkett,
- 10 Assistant Coaches Jeremy Davis, Trevor Dismukes, Rod Felton,
- 11 Terry Fenton, Harith Mitchom, and Cliff Young, Trainer
- 12 Destinee Grove, Videographer Demetrius Hampton, and
- 13 Statistician Terrence Hobson; therefore, be it
- 14 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 15 HUNDRED SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 16 we congratulate the East St. Louis High School football team,
- 17 the Flyers, on winning the 2022 Illinois High School
- 18 Association Class 6A State Football Championship and wish the
- 19 team continued success; and be it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 21 presented to Head Coach Darren Sunkett, East St. Louis Senior
- 22 High School Principal Alonzo Nelson Sr., and East St. Louis
- 23 School District 189 Superintendent Arthur Culver as an

1 expression of our respect and esteem.