

HR0625

LRB102 25834 LAW 35180 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the Fenwick High School 4 football team, the Friars, on winning the 2021 Illinois High 5 School Association Class 5A Championship; and

6 WHEREAS, The Friars won their first state championship in 7 program history by defeating Kankakee High School 34 to 15 in 8 the title game at Northern Illinois University in DeKalb on 9 November 27, 2021; and

10 WHEREAS, The Friars compiled a season record of 12 wins 11 and two losses and established a 28 to 0 lead over Kankakee 12 late in the first half, a deficit that Kankakee would not 13 overcome; and

14 WHEREAS, It was a dominating performance for the Friars; 15 they outgained Kankakee 456 yards to 227, limiting their 16 competitor to just 38 yards on the ground; they sacked the 17 opposing quarterback seven times; and

18 WHEREAS, The Friars are led by Head Coach Matt Battaglia, 19 Defensive Coordinator Titcus Pettigrew, Director of Operations 20 Tracy Bonaccorsi, and Strength & Conditioning Coach JR Kremer; 21 the varsity assistants are Tim Rooney, Ray Moland, Brien HR0625 -2- LRB102 25834 LAW 35180 r
Rooney, Xavier Vergara, Ryan Smith, Aaron Garland, Talmadge
Hill, Eric Lewis, and Craig Schneider; the athletic trainers
are Arielle Willett and Tony McCormick; the team managers are
Catherine Goode and Emily Wal; the team physician is Dr. Rocky
Romano; and

6 WHEREAS, The Friars are supported by Fenwick High School 7 President Father Richard Peddicord, Principal Peter Groom, and 8 Athletic Director Scott Theis; and

9 WHEREAS, The Friars team members are Jacque Walls, Kaden 10 Cobb, Aden Vargas, Denium Juette, Max Reese, Cameron Coppage, Eian Pugh, Bryan Hunt, Jordan McAdoo, Matthew Shannon, Danny 11 12 Kent, Brendan Doyle, Patrick Durkin, Tommy Sullivan, Martin 13 Paris, Iain Ramage, EJ Hosty, Dennis Moore, Seamus Dunlap, 14 James McNamara, Marty Fitzgerald, Donnell French, Luke Showel, 15 Tyler Draeger, Armani Smith, Caden Donnelly, Ethan Kaempf, Eddie McFadden, Will Gladden, Finnegan McGee, Conor Paris, 16 17 Harry Kenny, Marek Hill, Michael Novy, Luke D'Alise, Elijah Romeus, Suleiman Abuaqel, Quin Wieties, Luis Avalos, Gabe 18 Kotwasinski, Luke O'Brien, Alec Posluszny, Jack Henrichs, 19 20 Conor Stetz, Aaron Johnson, Khristian Richmond, William Rosenberg, Thomas McGinnis, Lukas Mikuzis, Jimmy Liston, Aiden 21 22 Boyle, Jesus Pulido, Brandon Williams, David Blake, Mirko Jaksic, Carter Robertson, Rasheed Anderson, Joseph Durkin, 23 24 Rowan White, Sean Fitzgerald, Maddux Fruend, and Nathaniel

HR0625 -3- LRB102 25834 LAW 35180 r Marshall; therefore, be it

1

2 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 3 HUNDRED SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 4 we congratulate the Fenwick High School football team, the 5 Friars, on winning the 2021 Illinois High School Association 6 Class 5A Championship, and we wish them many more successful 7 seasons; and be it further

8 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 9 presented to all Friars players, staff, and administrators as 10 a symbol of our respect and esteem.