

HR0332

LRB102 18560 LAW 26832 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate Fayette County on the 4 occasion of its 200th anniversary; and

5 WHEREAS, Fayette County was established from Bond, Wayne, Clark, Crawford and Jefferson counties on February 14, 1821, 6 7 becoming Illinois' 18th county; it was named in honor of Marie 8 Joseph Paul Yves Roch Gilbert du Motier, the Marquis de 9 Lafayette, the famous French general who fought for the 10 colonies in the Revolutionary War; it was formed as necessary for Vandalia, having been selected as the second capital of 11 the State, to be located within a county with suitable 12 dimensions; and 13

14 WHEREAS, Vandalia was the home to three of the State's 15 capitol buildings from 1819 to 1839, including the Vandalia 16 State House, which was built in 1836 and was the fourth capitol 17 building of Illinois; and

18 WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln, elected from Sangamon County, 19 arrived in Vandalia to take his seat in the legislature on 20 November 29, 1834, where he first formulated his thoughts on 21 slavery and served until the capitol moved to Springfield in 22 March 1839; and -2- LRB102 18560 LAW 26832 r

1 WHEREAS, The National Road, proposed by Thomas Jefferson 2 in 1803 and authorized by Congress in 1806, began in 3 Cumberland, Maryland in 1811 and ended in Vandalia in 1837; it 4 served as an important escape route for slaves seeking freedom 5 through the Underground Railroad, with 24 stations located 6 across Fayette, Greene, Washington, and Westmoreland counties 7 serving as stops along the way; and

8 WHEREAS, The 705.5-mile Illinois Central Railroad was 9 joined by a golden spike one mile south of Ramsey on January 5, 10 1855, officially opening the then-longest railroad in the 11 world; and

12 WHEREAS, Fayette County was home to three men, all 13 Democrats, who attained political heights in Illinois 14 government; of the three, two had deep family roots in the county; William M. Farmer, born near Shobonier, was elected to 15 the House of Representatives in 1891 and named to the Illinois 16 17 Supreme Court in 1906, where he served on the bench for 25 18 years; Arthur Roe, born in Shafter, was elected to the House of 19 Representatives in 1913 and served as Speaker of the House 20 from 1933 to 1935; Don E. Brummet, having moved to Vandalia in four 21 1939, was elected to terms in the House of 22 Representatives from 1971 to 1979; and

HR0332

HR0332 -3- LRB102 18560 LAW 26832 r
WHEREAS, Fayette County is the final resting place of 12
veterans of the American Revolution, James Starrett Carson,
James Cheshier, Samuel Davis, Henry Ginger, Wooten Harris,
Benjamin Jones, Thomas Mahon, Isaac Martin, John Morrell,
Benjamin Todd, James Verden, and Henry Walker, and their
heroic service created a nation; and

7 WHEREAS, Fayette County is the only county in the State
8 whose courthouse was once a private residence; and

WHEREAS, Fayette County is home to four locations listed 9 10 on the National Registry of Historic Places; the Floyd and Glenora Dycus House, located at 305 S. Second Street in 11 listed on March 2, 2001; 12 Brownstown, was the First Presbyterian Church, located at 301 W. Main Street in 13 14 Vandalia, was listed on March 24, 1982; the Little Brick 15 House, located at 621 St. Clair Street in Vandalia, was listed on June 4, 1973; the Historic Vandalia Statehouse, located at 16 17 315 W. Gallatin in Vandalia, was listed on January 21, 1974; 18 and

19 WHEREAS, Fayette County is divided into 20 townships, 20 which are Avena, Bear Grove, Bowling Green, Carson, Kaskaskia, 21 LaClede, Lone Grove, Loudon, North Hurricane, Otego, Pope, 22 Ramsey, Sefton, Seminary, Shafter, Sharon, South Hurricane, 23 Vandalia, Wheatland, and Wilberton; it is home to the cities HR0332 -4- LRB102 18560 LAW 26832 r
of St. Elmo and Vandalia; it includes the villages of Bingham,
Brownstown, Farina, Ramsey, and St. Peter; it also includes
the unincorporated communities of Augsburg, Avena, Bayle City,
Bluff City, Confidence, Dressor, Hagarstown, Loogootee,
Pittsburg, Shafter, Shobonier, Saint Paul, and Vera; and

6 WHEREAS, Fayette County will celebrate its 200th 7 anniversary at the Bicentennial Open House hosted by the 8 Fayette County Genealogical and Historical Society at the 9 Fayette County Museum on June 12, 2021; therefore, be it

10 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 11 HUNDRED SECOND GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 12 we congratulate the County of Fayette on the occasion of its 13 200th year; and be it further

14 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 15 presented to the Fayette County Genealogical and Historical 16 Society as an expression of our esteem and respect.