

SJ0052SAM002

13

14

LRB101 04727 MST 70555 a

1	AMENDMENT TO SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 52
2	AMENDMENT NO Amend Senate Joint Resolution 52 by
3	replacing everything after the heading with the following:
4	"WHEREAS, Lake County is a desirable place to live because
5	of its people and its location and hosts long-standing
6	communities that have called Lake County home for generations;
7	and
8	WHEREAS, The Illinois State Toll Highway Authority has
9	found that they are not in a position to lead the exploration
10	of extending Illinois Route 53 into Lake County and into these
11	communities; and
12	WHEREAS, The communities of Lake County have been voicing

concerns about the type of impact that the extension would have

on their homes; therefore, be it

25

1	RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED FIRST GENERAL
2	ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
3	CONCURRING HEREIN, that the Illinois Route 53 Expansion Land
4	Alternative Use Task Force is created to study the following:
5	(1) The cost, feasibility, and environmental impact of
6	alternative uses of the expansion land, including any
7	potential impact on flooding in the area;
8	(2) The short and long term economic impact to the
9	region; and
10	(3) All options for funding alternative uses; and be it
11	further
12	RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall consist of the
13	following members:
14	(1) The President of the Senate or his or her designee;
15	(2) The Speaker of the House or his or her designee;
16	(3) The Minority Leader of the Senate or his or her
17	designee;
18	(4) The Minority Leader of the House or his or her
19	designee;
20	(5) The Secretary of Transportation or his or her
21	designee;
22	(6) The Executive Director of the Department of Natural
23	Resources or his or her designee;
24	(7) The Director of the Illinois Environmental

Protection Agency or his or her designee;

26

1	(8) A representative of Lake County appointed by the
2	Chairman of the Lake County Board;
3	(9) The President of the Lake County Forest Preserve or
4	his or her designee;
5	(10) The Chair of the Lake County Stormwater Management
6	Commission or his or her designee;
7	(11) The Mayor of Long Grove or his or her designee;
8	(12) The Mayor of Hawthorn Woods or his or her
9	designee;
10	(13) The Mayor of Mundelein or his or her designee;
11	(14) The Mayor of Grayslake or his or her designee;
12	(15) A representative of a local sustainability
13	organization, nominated by its president and appointed by
14	the Task Force members who are General Assembly members;
15	(16) A representative of a local livability
16	organization, nominated by its president and appointed by
17	the Task Force members who are General Assembly members;
18	(17) A representative of an environmental
19	organization, nominated by its president and appointed by
20	the Task Force members who are General Assembly members;
21	(18) A representative of a tourism organization,
22	nominated by its president and appointed by the Task Force
23	members who are General Assembly members; and
24	(19) A representative of a conservation organization,
25	nominated by its president and appointed by the Task Force

members who are General Assembly members; and be it further

- RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall select a chairperson 1 2 from among the members of the Task Force who serve in the
- General Assembly; Task Force members shall serve without 3
- 4 compensation; and be it further
- That the Illinois Department of Natural 5 RESOLVED,
- 6 Resources shall provide administrative and other support to the
- 7 Task Force; the Illinois Department of Transportation and the
- 8 Illinois Tollway shall provide all information requested by the
- Task Force; and be it further 9
- 10 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall meet a minimum of four
- times and make recommendations to the General Assembly and IDOT 11
- 12 before December 31, 2020, and, upon the filing of its final
- 13 report, the Task Force is dissolved."