

SJ0052

## LRB101 04727 MST 65889 r

1

## SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, Lake County is a desirable place to live because 3 of its people and its location and hosts long-standing 4 communities that have called Lake County home for generations; 5 and

6 WHEREAS, The Illinois State Toll Highway Authority has 7 found that they are not in a position to lead the exploration 8 of extending Illinois Route 53 into Lake County and into these 9 communities; and

10 WHEREAS, The communities of Lake County have been voicing 11 concerns about the type of impact that the extension would have 12 on their homes; therefore, be it

13 RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDRED FIRST GENERAL 14 ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 15 CONCURRING HEREIN, that the Illinois Route 53 Expansion Land 16 Alternative Use Task Force is created to study the following:

17 (1) The cost, feasibility, and environmental impact of
18 alternative uses of the expansion land, including any
19 potential impact on flooding in the area;

20 (2) The short and long term economic impact to the 21 region; and

22 (3) All options for funding alternative uses; and be it

SJ0052

-2- LRB101 04727 MST 65889 r

1 further

2 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall consist of the 3 following members: 4 (1) The President of the Senate, or his designee; (2) The Speaker of the House, or his designee; 5 6 (3) The Minority Leader of the Senate, or his designee; 7 (4) The Minority Leader of the House, or his designee; (5) The Secretary of Transportation, or his or her 8 9 designee; 10 (6) The Executive Director of the Department of Natural 11 Resources, or his or her designee; 12 The Director of the Illinois Environmental (7)13 Protection Agency, or his or her designee; 14 (8) A representative of Lake County appointed by the 15 Chairman of the Lake County Board; 16 (9) The Chair of the Lake County Stormwater Management Commission, or his or her designee; 17 18 (10) The Mayor of Long Grove, or his or her designee; 19 (11) The Mayor of Hawthorn Woods, or his or her 20 designee; 21 (12) The Mayor of Mundelein, or his or her designee; 22 (13) The Mayor of Grayslake, or his or her designee; 23 (14) A representative of a local sustainability 24 organization, nominated by its President and appointed by 25 the Task Force members who are General Assembly members;

SJ0052 -3-LRB101 04727 MST 65889 r (15)Α representative of local livability а organization, nominated by its President and appointed by the Task Force members who are General Assembly members;

representative of an environmental 4 (16)Α 5 organization, nominated by its President and appointed by 6 the Task Force members who are General Assembly members;

7 (17) A representative of a tourism organization, 8 nominated by its President and appointed by the Task Force 9 members who are General Assembly members; and

10 (18) A representative of a conservation organization, 11 nominated by its President and appointed by the Task Force 12 members who are General Assembly members; and be it further

13 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall select a Chairperson 14 from among the members of the Task Force who serve in the 15 General Assembly; Task Force members shall serve without 16 compensation; and be it further

17 RESOLVED, That the Illinois Department of Natural 18 Resources shall provide administrative and other support to the Task Force; the Illinois Department of Transportation and the 19 20 Illinois Tollway shall provide all information requested by the 21 Task Force; and be it further

22 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall meet a minimum of four 23 times and make recommendations to the General Assembly and IDOT

1

2

3

SJ0052 -4- LRB101 04727 MST 65889 r before December 31, 2020, and, upon the filing of its final report, the Task Force is dissolved.

1

2