

HR0326

LRB101 12137 ALS 59726 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, founded 3 on the campus of Howard University in 1908 and incorporated in 4 1913, has established a mandate for carrying out the vision of 5 a new day of excellence and performance; and

6 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority is the nation's oldest 7 African-American sorority; the Sorority has never changed its 8 mission to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical 9 standards, promote unity and friendship among college women, 10 help alleviate problems concerning girls and women in order to 11 improve their social status, maintain a progressive interest in 12 college life, and to be of "Service to All Mankind"; and

13 WHEREAS, The 2018-2022 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. 14 administration, under the dynamic and creative leadership of International President Dr. Glenda Glover, who also serves as 15 the first female President of her alma mater Tennessee State 16 University in Nashville, Tennessee, continues to fulfill the 17 service imperative of the organization's founders with the 18 19 International Program "Exemplifying Excellence Through 20 Sustainable Service"; this program concentrates on: Target #1-Historically Black Colleges and Universities-A Call for 21 22 Target #2-Women's Health Wellness, Target Action, and 23 #3-Building Your Economic Legacy, Target #4-The Arts, and

HR0326 -2- LRB101 12137 ALS 59726 r

1 Target #5-Global Impact; and

2 WHEREAS, Many prominent women have been or are members of 3 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., including the late First Lady 4 Eleanor Roosevelt, the late civil rights leaders Coretta Scott 5 King and Rosa Parks, actress Phylicia Rashad, the late poet 6 Maya Angelou, writer Toni Morrison, singer Alicia Keys, 7 attorney Star Jones, financial expert Mellody Hobson, 8 comedian/actress Wanda Sykes, actress Jada Pinkett-Smith, Cook 9 County Recorder of Deeds Karen Yarbrough, Cook County Board 10 President Toni Preckwinkle, U.S. Senator Kamala Harris, and the 11 former President of Liberia, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf; and

12 WHEREAS, Lt. Governor Julianna Stratton and Representative 13 LaToya Greenwood are the newest members of Alpha Kappa Alpha 14 Sorority, Inc.; seasoned members of the sorority include 15 Assistant Majority Leader Mattie Hunter and Senator Toi 16 Hutchinson; and

17 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha's storied history of proven 18 leadership and extensive involvement in the world community 19 through strategic partnerships evidence the sorority's 20 potential to significantly contribute to the world community; 21 and

22 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated made

HR0326 -3- LRB101 12137 ALS 59726 r
history and expanded its international presence when it
chartered its first chapter, Omega Theta Omega, in the Middle
East; the chapter's 37 women, located in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and
throughout the United Arab Emirates, are business executives,
attorneys, educators, and physicians, among other accomplished
professionals; and

7 WHEREAS, Leadership development is essential to the 8 vitality of the organization, and the sorority's continuing 9 requirements of academic excellence, shared values, and 10 dedication to the mission of Alpha Kappa Alpha ensure a 11 continuous wellspring of quality leaders; therefore, be it

12 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 13 HUNDRED FIRST GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 14 we declare the date of May 8, 2019 as Alpha Kappa Alpha Day in 15 the State of Illinois in honor of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, 16 Incorporated, and its work; and be it further

17 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 18 presented to Central Regional Director Sonya L. Bowen, 19 International President Dr. Glenda Glover, Illinois State 20 Connection Coordinator Kimberly Irene Egonmwan, and Illinois 21 State Connection Chair Nia Odeoti-Hassan.