

HJ0068

## LRB101 12188 MST 59817 r

1

## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

its legislative declaration, the Charter 2 WHEREAS, In 3 Schools Law states that the purpose of charter schools in this 4 State is to improve pupil learning, increase learning opportunities for all children, with special emphasis on 5 expanding options for at-risk pupils, encourage innovation, 6 7 parental engagement, community involvement, and expanded public school options, create new professional opportunities 8 9 for teachers, and hold charter schools accountable; and

10 WHEREAS, The vast majority of students enrolled in charter 11 schools across this State come from low-income families and are 12 minorities, potentially making charter schools a key component 13 in the effort to close the achievement gaps that persist; and

14 WHEREAS, In authorizing Public Act 100-465, the General 15 Assembly created a new evidence-based funding system to provide 16 all students in the State of Illinois with a high quality 17 education; and

18 WHEREAS, Public Act 100-465 includes a goal to reduce, with 19 a goal of eliminating, the achievement gap between at-risk and 20 non-at-risk students by raising the performance of at-risk 21 students while not reducing standards; and HJ0068 -2- LRB101 12188 MST 59817 r WHEREAS, Charter schools authorized by the State Charter School Commission are supported by State funds otherwise due to the local school district; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
HUNDRED FIRST GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE
SENATE CONCURRING HEREIN, that the Task Force on the Funding of
Commission-authorized Charter Schools is created to:

8 (1)Examine the current funding provision in the 9 Charter Schools Law for the purpose of ensuring funding 10 equity, including but not limited to the range of funding 11 available to commission-authorized charter schools and the 12 source of the funds;

13 (2)Examine the current funding provisions in the 14 Charter Schools Law and their impact on the local school 15 district following the evidence-based funding provisions 16 of Public Act 100-465 in light of the legislative purpose 17 and intent behind that legislation;

(3) Review the effect of the commission-authorized charter schools on the students served by the charter, the students in the home school district, and the home school district's budget, with a focus upon the expansion in facilities, operations, and personnel costs associated with the creation of the charter school; and

24 (4)Examine the role of the local school district in25 the renewal process for the commission-authorized charter

HJ0068 -3- LRB101 12188 MST 59817 r

## 1

schools; and be it further

2 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall consist of the 3 following members, who shall serve without compensation:

4 (1) One member appointed by the Speaker of the House of
5 Representatives;

6 (2) One member appointed by the Minority Leader of the 7 House of Representatives;

8 (3) One member appointed by the President of the 9 Senate;

10 (4) One member appointed by the Minority Leader of the11 Senate;

12 (5) The State Superintendent of Education or his or her13 designee;

14 (6) The Superintendent/Chief Executive Officer or his
15 or her designee of each school district currently having a
16 commission-authorized charter school;

(7) One member, appointed by the Governor, upon the recommendation of the chief executive officer or his or her designee of each commission-authorized charter school, except that, where multiple such charter schools operate within a single district, a single representative shall appointed;

(8) One member appointed by the Governor, upon the
 recommendation of an organization representing teachers in
 a school district in a city having a population exceeding

-4- LRB101 12188 MST 59817 r

HJ0068

1 500,000;

2 (9) One member appointed by the Governor, upon the
3 recommendation of the largest statewide organization
4 representing teachers;

5 (10) One member appointed by the Governor, upon the 6 recommendation of the second-largest statewide 7 organization representing teachers;

8 (11) One member appointed by the Governor, upon the 9 recommendation of a statewide organization representing 10 charter schools in the State;

(12) One member appointed by the Governor, upon the recommendation of the largest statewide association representing school boards;

14 (13) One member appointed by the Governor, upon the 15 recommendation of the largest statewide association 16 representing school administrators;

17 (14) One member appointed by the Governor, upon the 18 recommendation of the largest statewide association 19 representing school business officials; and

20 (15) One member appointed by the Governor, who shall be
21 a current or former commissioner of the State Charter
22 School Commission; and be it further

23 RESOLVED, That the members of the Task Force shall be 24 appointed within 30 days after the adoption of this resolution 25 and shall begin meeting no later than 30 days after the HJ0068 -5- LRB101 12188 MST 59817 r appointments are finalized; in the event that the appointments by the Governor are not made within 30 days after the adoption of this resolution, the State Superintendent of Education shall make such appointments within 15 days after the appointment deadline; and be it further

6 RESOLVED, That the members of the Task Force shall elect a 7 chairperson from among their membership, and the Illinois State 8 Board of Education shall provide administrative support; and be 9 it further

10 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall issue a report making 11 recommendations on any changes to State laws with regard to 12 charter school funding on or before February 15, 2020 and upon 13 the filing of its report is dissolved; and be it further

14 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 15 delivered to the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the 16 President of the Senate, the Minority Leader of the House, the 17 Minority Leader of the Senate, the Governor, the State 18 Superintendent of Education, and the Chief Executive Officer of 19 City of Chicago School District 299.