SJ0054LRB100 16461 MST 35740 r


2    WHEREAS, For southwest Illinois to remain a vibrant and
3desired place to live and do business, the region's roadways
4need to evolve to meet the needs of the area; and
5    WHEREAS, Connecting the major population centers of
6Southern Illinois will allow people, goods, and agriculture
7commodities to be quickly transported; and
8    WHEREAS, Four counties in southwestern Illinois (Jackson,
9Monroe, Perry, and Randolph), numerous municipalities in the
10area, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, local
11businesses, labor unions, and agricultural organizations have
12all voiced support for a four lane, divided highway from
13Waterloo to Murphysboro; and
14    WHEREAS, The proposed highway has come to be known as the
15Southwest Illinois Connector; therefore, be it
18CONCURRING HEREIN, that the Southwest Illinois Connector Task
19Force is created in order to study the following:
20        (1) the cost, feasibility, and environmental impact of
21    the connector;



SJ0054- 2 -LRB100 16461 MST 35740 r

1        (2) the short and long term economic impact to the
2    region; and
3        (3) all options for funding the connector both public
4    and private; and be it further
5    RESOLVED, That the Southwest Illinois Connector Task Force
6shall consist of the following members:
7        (1) one member appointed by the Minority Leader of the
8    Senate, who shall serve as Chair;
9        (2) one member appointed by the President of the
10    Senate;
11        (3) one member appointed by the Speaker of the House;
12        (4) one member appointed by the Minority Leader of the
13    House;
14        (5) the Secretary of Transportation, or his or her
15    designee;
16        (6) a representative of Randolph County appointed by
17    the Chairman of the Randolph County Board of Commissioners;
18        (7) a representative of Perry County appointed by the
19    Chairman of the Perry County Board of Commissioners;
20        (8) a representative of Jackson County appointed by the
21    Chairman of the Jackson County Board;
22        (9) a representative of Monroe County appointed by the
23    Chairman of the Monroe County Board of Commissioners;
24        (10) a representative of the Illinois Farm Bureau
25    appointed by its President;



SJ0054- 3 -LRB100 16461 MST 35740 r

1        (11) a representative of Southern Illinois University
2    Carbondale appointed by its Chancellor;
3        (12) a representative of the International Union of
4    Operating Engineers Local 150 appointed by its President;
5        (13) a representative of the Kaskaskia Regional Port
6    District appointed by its Chairman;
7        (14) a representative of the Illinois Municipal League
8    appointed by its President; and
9        (15) a representative of the Illinois Realtors
10    Association appointed by its President; and be it further
11    RESOLVED, That members of the Southwest Illinois Connector
12Task Force shall serve with no compensation; the Illinois
13Department of Transportation shall make all Department
14information available to the Task Force and provide expertise
15as needed and available; and be it further
16    RESOLVED, That the Southwest Illinois Connector Task Force
17shall meet a minimum of four times and make recommendations to
18the General Assembly and the Illinois Department of
19Transportation before December 31, 2018.