

HR0994 LRB100 21595 MST 38715 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, On May 8, 2008, President George W. Bush enacted 3 Public Law 110-229, in which contained the Abraham Lincoln 4 National Heritage Area Act; and

5 WHEREAS, During the 110th Congress, U.S. Representative 6 Ray LaHood was the main sponsor of H.R. 1625, the Abraham 7 Lincoln National Heritage Area Act, with cosponsors 8 Representatives Bobby Rush, Jesse Jackson Jr., 9 Lipinski, Luis Guitierrez, Rahm Emanuel, Peter Roskam, Danny 10 Davis, Melissa Bean, Janice Schakowsky, Mark Kirk, Jerry 11 Weller, Judy Biggert, Dennis Hastert, Timothy Johnson, Donald Manzullo, Phil Hare, and John Shimkus; and 12

13 WHEREAS, Also in the 110th Congress, U.S. Senator Richard
14 Durbin was the main sponsor of S. 955, the Abraham Lincoln
15 National Heritage Act, with Senator Barack Obama as cosponsor;
16 and

17 WHEREAS, The Looking for Lincoln Heritage Coalition was
18 formed in 1998 as a community effort to promote tourism related
19 to the various aspects of Abraham Lincoln's life; and

20 WHEREAS, The Looking for Lincoln Heritage Coalition 21 prepared and submitted a feasibility study to the National Park

- 1 Service which proposed the Abraham Lincoln National Heritage
- 2 Area; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Public Law 110-229 designated the Looking for
- 4 Lincoln Heritage Coalition as the local coordinating entity,
- 5 thereby having the authority to manage the Abraham Lincoln
- 6 National Heritage Area; and
- 7 WHEREAS, On July 12, 2007, the U.S. Senate Subcommittee on
- 8 National Parks of the Committee on Energy and Natural Resources
- 9 held a hearing at which testimony was received from Katherine
- 10 Stevenson of the National Park Service in which she stated
- about the then proposed Abraham Lincoln National Heritage Area:
- 12 "It is here that Abraham Lincoln pondered this nation, formed
- his convictions, and even created his debate platform for the
- 14 now famous Lincoln-Douglas debates still resounding across
- this region through continued dialog of the same themes"; and
- WHEREAS, The 42 Illinois counties covered in the Abraham
- 17 Lincoln National Heritage Area are: Adams, Brown, Calhoun,
- 18 Cass, Champaign, Christian, Clark, Coles, Cumberland, Dewitt,
- 19 Douglas, Edgar, Fayette, Fulton, Greene, Hancock, Henderson,
- Jersey, Knox, LaSalle, Logan, Macon, Macoupin, Madison, Mason,
- 21 McDonough, McLean, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie,
- 22 Peoria, Piatt, Pike, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby,
- 23 Tazewell, Vermilion, Warren, and Woodford; and

5

- 1 WHEREAS, The 115th Congress currently has legislation 2 before it to expand the Abraham Lincoln National Heritage Area 3 by adding Livingston County and the communities of Freeport and 4 Jonesboro, thereby including all of the 8th Judicial Circuit
- WHEREAS, The Abraham Lincoln National Heritage Area covers

 7 25,588 square miles, contains 24 Looking for Lincoln

and all the Lincoln-Douglas debate sites; and

- 8 Communities, 76 partner organizations and agencies, and over
- 9 260 wayside exhibits; and
- WHEREAS, Over 175,000 people annually attend events and educational programs associated with the Abraham Lincoln National Heritage Area through the help of over 1300 volunteers, supporting over 3200 jobs, and generating over
- 14 \$25.5 million in tax revenue; therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
 heartily recognize the 10th anniversary of the creation of the
 Abraham Lincoln National Heritage Area, and congratulate all
 those who have made this an outstanding cultural, tourism, and
 economic asset for the State of Illinois; and be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be

1 presented to Looking for Lincoln Heritage Coalition as an

2 expression of our esteem and respect.