

HR0784 LRB100 18553 MST 33771 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, The Chicago Transit Authority (CTA) is proposing to extend the Red Line from the existing terminal at 95th/Dan Ryan to 130th Street; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The proposed 5.3-mile extension would include 6 four new stations near 103rd Street, 111th Street, Michigan 7 Avenue, and 130th Street; each new station would include bus 8 and parking facilities; and
- 9 WHEREAS, This project is one part of the Red Ahead Program
  10 to extend and enhance the entire Red Line; the project is
  11 subject to the availability of funding; and

12 WHEREAS, Extending the Red Line would provide numerous 13 benefits; it would reduce commute times for residents both within and south of the project area; it would improve mobility 14 15 and accessibility for transit-dependent residents in the project area; it would improve rapid transit rail service to 16 17 isolated areas and linkages between affordable housing, jobs, 18 services, and educational opportunities; it would offer 19 opportunities for potential connections and linkages to other public transportation modes including regional commuter rail 20 21 in the project area; it would spur economic development in the 22 project area; and it would offer a modern, efficient rail car

- storage yard and shop facility to provide storage and cost-effective preventive maintenance for rail cars associated with the Red Line Extension (RLE) Project, rail cars currently stored in the existing 98th Street Yard and Shop, and rail cars supporting additional Red Line expansion of service;
- 6 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
  HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
  urge the United States Department of Transportation to make
  funding for the Chicago Red line extension a priority; and be
  it further
- RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be delivered to U.S. Department of Transportation Secretary Elaine L. Chao, President Donald Trump, U.S. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell, U.S. Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer, U.S. Speaker of the House Paul Ryan, U.S. House of Representatives Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, and all members of the Illinois Congressional Delegation.