

HR0743 LRB100 16739 MST 31879 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the Rochester High School 4 football team, the Rockets, on winning the 2017 Illinois High 5 School Association Class 4A State Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Rockets defeated Morris High School on November 24, 2017 in an epic 24 to 21 victory, claiming their second consecutive Class 4A title and their seventh in the last eight years; and

10 WHEREAS, Rockets quarterback Nic Baker led his team to
11 victory, completing 15 of 28 passing attempts for two
12 touchdowns and rushing for 81 yards throughout the game; and

WHEREAS, The Rockets made a key fourth down conversion in the fourth quarter on their own 39-yard line; they used this late fourth quarter momentum to push forward, giving sophomore kicker Clay Alewelt the opportunity to seal the game with a 24-yard field goal attempt, striking it perfectly into the uprights as time expired; and

WHEREAS, The Rockets overcame a challenge from the undefeated Highland Bulldogs in the semifinal game, allowing for a 31 to 14 Rocket victory that sent them to the

- 1 championship game; and
- 2 WHEREAS, All season long, the Rockets dazzled fans across
- 3 the state, completing an undefeated season with 14 wins and
- 4 zero losses; through hard work, dedication, and team work they
- 5 were able to keep pushing through each game all season long;
- 6 and
- 7 WHEREAS, Rockets Head Coach, Derek Leonard, led an
- 8 excellent group of talented football players to victory;
- 9 assisted by Derrick Nelson, Steve Buecker, JC Clarke, Tyson
- 10 Corley, Jim Smith, Brett Tackett, Jim Rychel, Rick McMahon, and
- 11 Tyler Mazzini, he gave the Rochester High School students an
- immense and fulfilling season; and
- WHEREAS, The Rockets are Riley Lewis, Zach Lee, David
- 14 Allen, Chase Brown, Chase Hickey, Cade Eddington, Nic Baker,
- 15 Clayton Cornett, Brock Mackiney, Skylor Caruso, Stephan
- 16 McCree, Clay Bruno, Ben Chapman, Henry Patterson, Jordan Raps,
- 17 Jacob Gunter, Zach Reichen, Brandon Morris, Justin Owens, Nick
- Davis, Cory Gannar, Elijah Sadler, Talon Williams, Zach
- 19 Gleeson, Ben Grimes, David Yoggerst, Jordan Smith, Jack Perry,
- Jack Friedewald, Nick Capriotti, Sid Cox, PJ Jerszynski, Dalton
- 21 Klatt, Carter Sommer, Isaac Drum, Hunter Butcher, Sean Brewer,
- 22 Clayton Blanshan, Josh Scranton, Lochlan Sullivan, Mitchell
- 23 Morris, Adam Western, Cole Maddox, Camden Ramsey, Connor

- 1 Sweeney, Shawn Dulin, Michael Harper, Colton Rowden, Ben
- 2 Berberet, Will Ryan, Clay Johnson, Quinton Boxman, Nathan
- 3 Jackson, Alex Baylor, Mason Lutzow, Matt Tungett, Jared
- 4 Lagemann, Jarrett Reed, Jayden Reed, Dalton Weakly, Jack Bruso,
- 5 Logan Peters, Mike McNicholas, Ethan Vose, Clay Alewelt, Cole
- 6 Allen, Jonathon McKenzie, Chris Koerwitz, Adam Krech, Jacob
- 7 DuRocher, and Jordan Smith; therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 9 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
- 10 congratulate the Rochester High School football team, the
- 11 Rockets, on winning the 2017 Illinois High School Association
- 12 Class 4A State Championship; and be it further
- 13 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 14 presented to each member of the Rockets, the coaching staff,
- and school administrators.