

HR0536 LRB100 13482 MST 28087 r

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Community Development Sustainable Solutions's Stephanie Bush, Terrance Taylor, Tracy Johnson, and Shamika Croom continue their Peace Initiative Summers; this year, they are joined by the Emerson Park Development Corporation's Bill Spencer and Vicky Forbe; June 19, 1865, "Juneteenth", is a momentous day in American history; "To Awaken the Spirit of Freedom and Hope for a New Beginning" on this fateful date, we stand in remembrance, gratitude, honor, and unity; we answer the "Call for Change"; and

WHEREAS, Community Development Sustainable Solutions (CDSS) is a non-profit grassroots social advocacy community and economic development agency of community organizers, human service agents, and social justice agents committed to advancing economic growth in surrounding communities; CDSS's mission remains true to its original goals: making a positive impact by creating and implementing sustainable solutions we can all live with; and

WHEREAS, Community Development Sustainable Solutions advocates for the voice and the spirit of the community; on June 19, the CDSS, along with the communities of East St. Louis, Cahokia, and Washington Park, proclaimed Juneteenth an "American independence holiday"; June 19th is the true African

- 1 American Independence Day, not July 4th; this is the first step
- 2 towards raising awareness and understanding the national
- 3 legacy and journey of African Americans; and
- WHEREAS, In 2017, Community Development Sustainable
- 5 Solutions celebrated Juneteenth East St. Louis by bringing
- 6 surrounding communities together in unity; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Community Development Sustainable Solutions
- 8 remains true to its vision and mission towards equitable and
- 9 sustainable solutions to end systemic racism and crime via
- 10 community and economic development efforts that civically
- 11 engage; therefore, be it
- 12 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 13 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
- 14 recognize the advocacy of Community Development Sustainable
- 15 Solutions and declare Stephanie Bush, Terrance Taylor, Tracy
- Johnson, and Shamika Croom to be "pillars of excellence" within
- 17 their community; and be it further
- 18 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 19 presented to Stephanie Bush, Terrance Taylor, Tracy Johnson,
- and Shamika Croom as a symbol of our respect and esteem.