

HR0247 LRB100 11982 MST 23908 r

HOUSE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, founded on the campus of Howard University in 1908 and incorporated in 1913, has established a mandate for carrying out the vision of a new day of excellence and performance; and

WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority is the nation's oldest African-American sorority; the Sorority has never changed its mission to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards, promote unity and friendship among college women, help alleviate problems concerning girls and women in order to improve their social status, maintain a progressive interest in college life, and to be of "Service to All Mankind"; and

WHEREAS, The 2014-2018 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. administration, under the dynamic and creative leadership of International President Dorothy Buckhanan Wilson, continues to fulfill the service imperative of the organization's founders with the international program "Launching New Dimensions of Service", which focuses on educational enrichment, health promotion, family strengthening, environmental ownership, and global impact; and

WHEREAS, The 2017 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Day at the Capitol, nationally and internationally, will focus on

7

8

9

10

11

12

1.3

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

three issues for each state; in Illinois, the focus will be on funding for elementary, secondary, and higher education, health care, and immigration; this parallels the international program, "Launching New Dimensions of Service"; the second part of the program will concentrate on civil rights and social justice while; part three of the program will be a dialogue and

discussion concerning the "Be The Voice Campaign"; and

WHEREAS, Many prominent women have been or are members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., including the late First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, the late civil rights leaders Coretta Scott King and Rosa Parks, actress Phylicia Rashad, the late poet Maya Angelou, writer Toni Morrison, singer Alicia Keys, attorney Star Jones, financial expert Mellody Hobson, comedian/actress Wanda Sykes, actress Jada Pinkett-Smith, Cook County Recorder of Deeds Karen Yarbrough, Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle, and the President of Liberia, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf; and

WHEREAS, Many members of the General Assembly and legislative staff are members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., including Senate Majority Whip Mattie Hunter, Senator Toi Hutchinson, India Hammons, and Nia Odeoti-Hassan, who has served since 2010 as the Illinois State Connection Coordinator and the chairwoman of the Illinois State Connection Committee in the Central Region under the leadership of Regional Director

- 1 Kathy Walker Steele; and
- WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha's storied history of proven
- 3 leadership and extensive involvement in the world community
- 4 through strategic partnerships evidence the sorority's
- 5 potential to significantly contribute to the world community;
- 6 and
- 7 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated made
- 8 history and expanded its international presence when it
- 9 chartered its first chapter, Omega Theta Omega, in the Middle
- 10 East; the chapter's 37 women, located in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and
- 11 throughout the United Arab Emirates, are business executives,
- 12 attorneys, educators, and physicians, among other accomplished
- 13 professionals; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Leadership development is essential to the
- 15 vitality of the organization, and the sorority's continuing
- 16 requirements of academic excellence, shared values, and
- 17 dedication to the mission of Alpha Kappa Alpha ensure a
- 18 continuous wellspring of quality leaders; therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 20 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
- 21 designate the date of May 10, 2017 as Alpha Kappa Alpha Day in
- 22 the State of Illinois in honor of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority,

- 1 Incorporated, and its work; and be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 3 provided to Kathy Walker Steele, Central Regional Director;
- 4 Dorothy Buckhanan Wilson, International President; Sylvia
- 5 Blackmon-Roberts, International Connection Committee Chairman;
- 6 and Bakahia Reed Madison, Central Regional Representative to
- 7 the International Connection Committee.