

HJ0126 LRB100 21829 MST 39565 r

## HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

Dwight D. Eisenhower's ad 2 WHEREAS, President 3 President's Committee on Civil Rights stated that "In a 4 democratic society, the systematic, critical review of social 5 needs and public policy is a fundamental necessity. This is especially true of a field like civil rights, where problems 6 7 are enduring, and range widely (and where)...a temporary, 8 sporadic approach can never finally solve these problems"; therefore, be it 9

10 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
11 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE SENATE
12 CONCURRING HEREIN, that the Illinois Commission on Civil Rights
13 is hereby created; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Commission is charged with the task of studying alleged discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, age, disability, and national origin; it also is to study alleged deprivations of voting rights and discrimination in the administration of justice; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Commission is to consist of 8 members; two appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, two appointed by the President of the Senate, two appointed by

1 the House Minority Leader, and two appointed by the Senate

- 2 Minority Leader; and be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That those on the Commission shall serve without
- 4 compensation and shall select a chairperson from its members;
- 5 and be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That the Commission shall submit a report to the
- 7 General Assembly no later than January 9, 2019; and be it
- 8 further
- 9 RESOLVED, That the report filed with the General Assembly
- shall be filed with the Clerk of the House of Representatives
- and the Secretary of the Senate in electronic form only, in the
- 12 manner that the Clerk and Secretary shall direct; and be it
- 13 further
- 14 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- delivered to the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the
- 16 President of the Senate, the House Minority Leader, and the
- 17 Senate Minority Leader.