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Proposed Rulemakings____________________________   
DRIVER’S LICENSES 
 
The SECRETARY OF STATE proposed 
amendments to Issuance of Licenses 
(92 IAC 1030; 48 Ill Reg 7994) that 
establish a minimum vision standard 
for drivers who have monocular vision 
(i.e., in only one eye; such drivers are 
restricted to vehicles with both left 
and right rearview mirrors) and allow 
for an evaluation by a certified driver 
rehabilitation specialist to be 
considered if the driver is unable to 
meet the minimum vision standard.  
The rulemaking also creates a new 
restriction (J52) under which persons 
with Class B or C Commercial Driver’s 
Licenses may also operate farm 
vehicles. SOS states that this 
restriction is intended to 
accommodate school bus drivers who 
hold Class B CDLs and, under current 
rule, cannot also obtain a J50 or J51 
restriction allowing them to operate 
farm vehicles.  
 

Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 7/15/24: 
Pamela Wright, SOS, 298 Howlett 
Bldg., Springfield IL 62756, 217-785-
3094, pwright@ilsos.gov  

▪ UNCLAIMED PROPERTY  
 
The OFFICE OF THE TREASURER 
proposed amendments to the Part 
titled Revised Uniform Unclaimed 
Property Act (74 IAC 760; 48 Ill Reg 
8047) implementing PA 103-148, 
which requires enhanced outreach 
efforts by the State Treasurer for 
unclaimed property where the 
apparent owner is a State agency or a 
unit of local government.  Claim 
forms for property worth more than 
$5,000 (currently, $2,000) must be 
either notarized or completed 
electronically at the Treasurer’s  
 

website under penalty of perjury. 
(Currently, only notarized claim 
forms are accepted.) The Treasurer 
may, however, require a notarized 
signature for claims submitted via the 
website if needed to establish 
ownership of the property. The PA 
and the rulemaking also include as 
unclaimed property reportable to the 
State Treasurer missing heir funds 
and property tax overpayments 
currently reported to county 
treasurers.  Other provisions address 
virtual currency that cannot be 
liquidated, owner interest, reporting, 
filing of claims, securities, and 
examinations. Small businesses and 
small municipalities that have claims 
to unclaimed property may be 
affected.  
 
 
 
 

(cont. page 2) 
 

THE FLINN REPORT 

ADOPTED RULES: Rules adopted by agencies this week. EMERGENCY RULES: Temporary rules adopted for no more than 150 days.  
PROPOSED RULEMAKINGS: Rules proposed by agencies this week, commencing a First Notice public comment period of at least 45 days. 
PEREMPTORY RULES: Rules adopted without prior public notice or JCAR review as authorized by 5 ILCS 100/5-50.  
▪ - Designates rules of special interest to small businesses, small municipalities and/or non-profit organizations. Agencies must consider 
comments from these groups and attempt to minimize regulatory burdens on them.  
QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: Submit mail, e-mail or phone calls to the agency personnel listed below each summary.  
RULE TEXT: First Notice proposed text, emergency rule and peremptory rule text is available at the Secretary of State website 
(https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/home.html) or at the Illinois General Assembly website (http://www.ilga.gov) under “Illinois 
Register”. Second Notice text for proposed rulemakings (original version with any changes made by the agency during First Notice included) is 
available at the JCAR website.  

Adopted Rules, Page 3 
Second Notices, Page 4 
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Proposed 
Rulemakings 
(cont. from page 1) 
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 7/15/24: 
Sara Meek, Office of the Treasurer,  
219 State House, Springfield IL 62706, 
217-836-0030, fax 217-782-2777, 
SMeek@illinoistreasurer.gov  
 
▪ REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND 
PROFESSIONAL REGULATION 
proposed amendments to the Part 
titled Real Estate Appraiser Licensing 
(68 IAC 1455; 48 Ill Reg 7918) 
implementing 3 Public Acts and other 
updates. In accordance with 
recommendations from a federal task 
force on property appraisal and 
valuation equity, and to remove 
barriers to entry into the appraisal 
profession, DFPR is introducing 
alternative means of obtaining the 
required experience for licensed 
appraisers. Alternative experience 
programs approved by the national 
Appraiser Qualification Board (AQB) 
or practicum courses may be 
substituted for the traditional 
supervisory trainee experience (which 
requires the trainee to work with an 
already licensed supervisory 
appraiser). The rulemaking also 
establishes a process by which 
Associate Real Estate Trainee 
Appraisers may submit requests for 
reconsideration of their experience 
appraisal logs. Effective 1/1/26, 
trainee applicants must complete an 
8-hour course and exam on valuation 
bias and fair housing laws, and 
renewing licensees must complete a 
4-hour AQB-approved course on the 
same subject every renewal cycle. 
While the valuation bias/fair housing 

courses may be counted toward 
continuing education (CE) 
requirements, sexual harassment 
prevention training (required of all 
DFPR-licensed professionals during 
each renewal cycle) is not included in 
CE. DFPR may now issue non-
disciplinary citations or warning 
letters, not made public, to licensees 
who are not in compliance with 
continuing education requirements, 
and may issue fines of $500 for a first 
instance of noncompliance, $1,000 for 
a second instance, and $2,000 for a 
third instance (which will be made 
public). Other provisions charge 
renewal fees for each renewal period 
rather than annually; clarify 
supervisor and trainee requirements; 
allow licensees to be in inactive status 
for up to 2 renewal periods (4 years); 
include violations of federal, State or 
local antidiscrimination laws among 
the acts that constitute unprofessional 
conduct subject to disciplinary action;  
remove provisions allowing licenses to 
be denied or suspended for failure to 
pay child support, State taxes or 
student loans; require a criminal 
history records check for all initial 
license applicants; and clarify that 
results of a successfully completed 
AQB-approved examination are valid 
for 24 months after the date of the 
exam. Real estate appraisers, trainees, 
and their employers are affected by 
this rulemaking.  
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 7/15/24: 
Craig Cellini, DFPR, 320 W. 
Washington St., 2nd Floor, Springfield 
IL  62786, 217-785-0810, fax 217-557-
4451. 
 
▪ FILM PRODUCTION 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 
AND ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY 
proposed amendments to the Part 

titled Illinois Film and Production 
Services Tax Credit Program (14 IAC 
528; 48 Ill Reg 7901) implementing PA 
102-700. The rulemaking defines 
“above the line” services (rendered by 
the producer, executive producer, 
director, screenwriter, 
lead/supporting cast, and others with 
creative or financial control of a 
production), “below the line” services 
(rendered by personnel who work off 
camera and provide primarily 
technical assistance) and “related 
party transactions” (involving parties  
related by common ownership or that 
are material investors in the 
production or production company). 
Applicants for the film and production 
services tax credit must disclose all 
related party transactions, including 
the name of the related party, the 
nature of the relationship, and the 
amount of the transactions. Above the 
line salaries that may be claimed as 
Illinois labor expenditures are capped 
at 40% of total Illinois production 
spending, or 12% for above the line 
salaries provided by related parties. 
Below the line services provided by a 
related party are limited to fair market 
value. Production spending on goods 
and services such as equipment and 
studio rental or special effects 
packages is also limited to fair market 
value. Film, TV and internet 
production companies producing 
shows in Illinois are affected.  
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 7/15/24: 
Gina Arterberry, DCEO, 607 E. Adams 
St., 12th Fl., Springfield IL  62701, 217-
524-8974, 
Gina.M.Arterberry@Illinois.gov 
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Adopted Rules_____________________________________ 
▪ GROCERY STORES  
 
The DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 
AND ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY 
adopted a new Part titled Grocery 
Store Initiative Grant Program (14 IAC 
645; proposed at 47 Ill Reg 19258) 
effective 5/16/24 at 48 Ill Reg 8084, 
implementing the Grocery Initiative 
Act by establishing a grant/loan 
program for grocery stores located in 
“food deserts”. The Act and this Part 
define a food desert as a census tract 
that has a poverty rate of at least 20% 
or a median income at or below 80% 
of the State or metropolitan area 
median income, and in which at least 
500 residents or at least 33% of the 
population lives more than 10 miles in 
rural areas or more than ½ mile in 
urban areas from the nearest grocery 
store.  Applicants must own or be 
planning to establish an eligible 
grocery store in a food desert; own no 
more than 4 (changed since 1st Notice 
from 5) stores in Illinois; sell or plan to 
sell primarily grocery products, 
including fresh produce; derive no 
more than 30% of annual revenue 
from tobacco and alcohol sales; and 
accept SNAP and WIC benefits. Grants 
or loans to new grocery stores may be 
used to fund market and site 
feasibility studies; salaries and 
benefits for workers; rent or down 
payment to acquire a facility; 
purchase ownership of an existing or 

closed grocery store; capital 
improvements, including land 
acquisition, renovations, demolition, 
or equipment purchases; or other 
costs that DCEO determines eligible. 
Grants (amounting to no more than 
20% of total program funding) may 
also be awarded to co-operatives or 
non-profit or for-profit corporations 
for upgrading equipment to make it 
more energy efficient. DCEO will post 
Notices of Funding Opportunity 
(NOFOs) when funding becomes 
available. DCEO may also prioritize 
applicants that are units of local 
government; that earn less than $5 
million in annual revenue; that own or 
seek to establish groceries in low-
income/high poverty areas; or that are 
located farther away from existing 
grocery stores in comparison to other 
applicants. Grant recipients must 
comply with the Grant Accountability 
and Transparency Act (GATA) and the 
Project Labor Agreement Act. Since 1st 
Notice, DCEO has clarified various 
aspects of the application process and 
criteria for awarding grants and loans. 
Small businesses, small municipalities, 
and non-profit entities may be 
affected by this rulemaking.  
 
Questions/requests for copies: Gina 
Arterberry, DCEO, 607 E. Adams St., 
12th Fl., Springfield IL  62701, 217-524-
8974, Gina.M.Arterberry@Illinois.gov 
 

AIR POLLUTION  
 
The POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 
adopted amendments to Air Quality 
Standards (35 IAC 243; proposed at 48 
Ill Reg 4283) effecƟve 5/16/24 at 48 Ill 
Reg 8097, implemenƟng recent 
amendments to the federal NaƟonal 
Ambient Air Quality Standards 
(NAAQS) that make a technical 
adjustment to an ozone measurement 
factor and add a new method for 
measuring parƟculate maƩer.   
 
WATER POLLUTION 
 
PCB also adopted amendments to 
Sewer Discharge Criteria (35 IAC 307; 
proposed at 47 Ill Reg 18866) effective 
5/16/24 at 48 Ill Reg 8106, 
implementing federal wastewater 
pretreatment rules adopted by the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
in the first half of 2023. The 
rulemaking adopts USEPA effluent 
limitation guidelines for water 
discharged from steam electric power 
generating facilities.   
 
Questions/requests for copies of the 2 
PCB rulemakings: Don A. Brown, PCB, 
60 E. Van Buren St., Suite 630, Chicago 
Il 60605, 312-814-3461, 
don.brown@illinois.gov. Please 
reference docket R24-15 for Part 243 
and docket R24-6 for Part 307.  
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Second Notices____________________________________ 
The following rulemakings were moved to Second Notice this week by the agencies listed below, commencing the JCAR review period. 
These rulemakings will be considered at the June 4, 2024 meeting in Chicago. Further comments concerning these rulemakings should 
be addressed to JCAR at jcar@ilga.gov. 

 
DEPT OF CENTRAL MANAGEMENT SERVICES 

State Employees Group Health Insurance Program (80 IAC 2210; 48 Ill Reg 4272) proposed 3/22/24 
 

DEPT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
Permanency Planning (89 IAC 315; 48 Ill Reg 85) proposed 1/5/24 

 
ILLINOIS STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Career and Technical Education (23 IAC 256; 48 Ill Reg 2297) proposed 2/16/24 
 

DEPT OF REVENUE 
Income Tax (86 IAC 100; 48 Ill Reg 5234) proposed 4/5/24 

 
OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL 

Requirements for the Participation and Certification of Fire Protection Personnel  
(41 IAC 141; 48 Ill Reg 4345) proposed 3/22/24 

 
DEPT OF TRANSPORTATION 

School Bus Safety Equipment Test Pilot Program (92 IAC 448; 47 Ill Reg 15257) proposed 10/27/23 
 

Diesel Emission Inspection Program (92 IAC 460; 47 Ill Reg 15634) proposed 11/3/23 
 

 
 

 

 

 
Next JCAR Meeting: Tuesday, June 4, 11 a.m.  
Room C-600, Bilandic Bldg., 160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago 

Meeting will be live streamed on the JCAR website 
 

Joint Committee on Administrative Rules 
 

Senator Bill Cunningham, Co-Chair  Representative Ryan Spain, Co-Chair 
Senator Cristina Castro    Representative Eva-Dina Delgado 
Senator Donald DeWitte   Representative Jackie Haas 
Senator Dale Fowler    Representative Steven Reick 
Senator Napoleon Harris, III   Representative Curtis Tarver, II 
Senator Sue Rezin    Representative Dave Vella 
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700 Stratton Office Building, Springfield IL 62706 
217-785-2254 ■ jcar@ilga.gov 

 


