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Illinois Regulation is a summary of the weekly regulatory decisions of State agencies published in the Illinois Register and
action taken by the Illinois General Assembly’s Joint Committee on Administrative Rules.  Illinois Regulation, also titled The Flinn
Report in memory of founding JCAR member Rep. Monroe Flinn, is designed to inform and involve the public in changes taking
place in agency administration.
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ADOPTED RULES:  Rules adopted by agencies this week.  EMERGENCY RULES: Adopted for a temporary period not to exceed 150 days.
PROPOSED  RULES:  Rules proposed by agencies this week, commencing a 45-day First Notice period during which public comments must be accepted.
PEREMPTORY RULES: Rules  adopted without prior public notice or JCAR review as authorized by 5 ILCS 100/5-50.
Designates rules of special interest to small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-profit corporations.  Agencies are required to consider comments
from these groups and minimize the regulatory burden on them.
QUESTIONS/COMMENTS:  Submit mail, email or phone calls to the agency personnel listed below each summary.
RULE TEXT:  Available on the Secretary of State (www.cyberdriveillinois.com)  and General Assembly (www.ilga.gov) websites under Illinois Register. Second
Notice text (original version with changes made by the agency during First Notice included) is available on the JCAR website.
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PARKING TAX

The DEPARTMENT OF
REVENUE adopted a new Part
titled Parking Excise Tax (86 IAC
195; 43 Ill Reg 13242) effective 5/
13/20, implementing provisions of
Public Act 101-31 that impose a
tax on the use of paid parking
spaces in parking areas or
garages. Effective 1/1/20, a tax of
6% of the purchase price of
spaces paid for on an hourly, daily,
or weekly basis and 9% of the
purchase price for spaces paid for
on a monthly or annual basis is
imposed. All non-governmental
entities that collect payment for
parking or storage of motor
vehicles, recreational vehicles or
other self-propelled vehicles are
subject to this tax, unless they
operate 3 or fewer spaces. Third
parties who contract with
governmental entities to operate
parking areas or garages are
subject to the tax, as are property
owners who regularly sell more

The DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC
HEALTH adopted an emergency
amendment to Control of
Communicable Diseases Code
(77 IAC 690; 44 Ill Reg 9282)
effective 5/15/20. (NOTE: This
amendment was repealed by
an emergency rulemaking
effective 5/20/20 that will
appear in next week’s Illinois
Register.) The now-repealed
emergency rule invoked DPH’s
statutory authority to control
“dangerously contagious or
infectious disease outbreaks” by
imposing restrictions upon food
and beverage service businesses,
businesses/establ ishments
offering indoor fitness or non-
medical wellness services, and
business/establishments offering
cosmetology, esthetics, tanning,
body art or other non-medical
personal care services, for the

DPH PANDEMIC RULES

Numerous Executive Orders and
emergency rules have been issued
in response to the COVID-19
pandemic. Executive Orders of the
Governor concerning this
pandemic can be accessed at
https:/ /www2.i l l inois.gov/
government/executive-orders.
Emergency rules adopted by State
agencies will be summarized in
The Flinn Report as they are
published in the Illinois Register.

COVID-19 ACTIONS

than 3 parking spaces at a time to
attendees of events (e.g., fairs,
sporting events) unless these sales
are “isolated or occasional”.
Examples of the application of the
tax are outlined. Since 1st Notice,
DOR has added language
clarifying various definitions and
provisions of this rule, including
how the tax applies to operators,
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purchasers, storage unit owners,
and entities that only process or
collect payments for parking.
Those affected by this rulemaking
include small businesses and
nonprofit entities who sell or lease
parking spaces for any purpose or
event, including annual events.

Questions/requests for copies:
Richard S. Wolters, DOR, 101 W.
Jefferson St., Springfield IL
62794, 217/782-2844.

DRIVER  EDUCATION

The STATE BOARD OF
EDUCATION adopted
amendments to Driver Education
(23 IAC 252; 43 Ill Reg 13384)
effective 5/12/20, implementing
two Public Acts. The rulemaking
allows school districts to utilize
distance learning programs that
provide driver education (other
than behind-the-wheel instruction)
via the internet, e-mail, or other
methods outside of a traditional
classroom.  School districts must
determine on a case-by-case
basis whether to allow a student to
take any portion of a driver’s ed
course via distance learning and
may only do so with approval of the
student’s parent/guardian, the
student’s driver education teacher,
and the school administration. An
entire driver education course
cannot, under any circumstances,
be completed via distance
learning. Addit ionally, the
rulemaking requires school
districts that contract with
commercial driving schools to
ensure that the driver education

teacher, if he or she is not a
Certified Driver Rehabilitation
Specialist, meets SBE educator
licensure and endorsement
requirements and is subject to the
same evaluation and observation
requirements as a non-tenured
teacher. Those affected by this
rulemaking include commercial
driving schools that contract with
school districts to provide driver’s
ed instruction.

EDUCATOR  LICENSURE

SBE adopted amendments to
Standards for Endorsements in
Specific Teaching Fields (23 IAC
27; 43 Ill Reg 12246), Standards
for Endorsements in Special
Education (23 IAC 28; 43 Ill Reg
12600), and Standards for
Administrative Endorsement (23
IAC 29; 43 Ill Reg 12727), all
effective 5/12/20. The Part 27 and
29 rulemakings align the educator
and administrator licensure/
endorsement standards for
various positions and fields of
study with national standards
prescribed by the Council for the
Accreditation of Educator
Preparation (CAEP).
Amendments to Part 28 implement
revisions to special education
endorsements recommended by
the national Collaboration for
Educator Effectiveness,
Development, Accountability and
Reform (CEEDAR) and the
Council for Exceptional Children
(CEC). Those affected by these
rulemakings include candidates
for educator and administrator
licensure and educator
preparation programs.

SCHOOLS

SBE also adopted amendments to
Requirements for Accounting,
Budgeting, Financial Reporting,
and Auditing (23 IAC 100; 43 Ill
Reg 13700) effective 5/12/20 that
update procedures for school
district accounting of various
funds. The rulemaking allows tort
expenditures to be recorded under
categories other than general
administration and adds
provisions for reporting student
activity funds, in accordance with
Governmental Accounting
Standards Board (GASB) rules,
within district educational funds
instead of separately.

Questions/requests for copies of
the 5 SBE rulemakings: Azita
Kakvand, SBE, 100 N. First St.,
Springfield IL 62777-0001, 217/
782-6510, rules@isbe.net

 COMMUNITY CARE

The DEPARTMENT ON AGING
adopted amendments to
Community Care Program (89
IAC 240; 44 Ill Reg 1724) effective
5/13/20, clarifying requirements for
certification as providers of in-
home services, adult day services,
emergency home response
services or automated medication
dispensing services. Agencies
seeking certification as adult day
service providers must have at
least 2 years’ experience
providing direct social services
programming (formerly, 2 years’
experience in “business
operations” providing adult day
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duration of the public health
emergency. Businesses/
establishments listed in the
emergency rule were prohibited
from offering indoor on-site
services or customer access to on-
site facilities. Only delivery, drive-
through, curb-side or pickup
services or sales of retail goods
or recording/streaming of online
classes and instructional videos
were permitted. Any persons
violating these provisions were
subject to the penalties set forth in
Section 8.1 of the Department of
Public Health Act, which makes
disobedience to DPH rules and
orders a Class A misdemeanor
with maximum penalties of up to
364 days imprisonment and fines
of up to $2,500.

Questions/requests for copies:
Erin Conley, DPH, 535 W.
Jefferson St., 5th Fl., Springfield
IL 62761, 217/782-2043,
dph.rules@illinois.gov

UNEMPLOYMENT  BENEFITS

The DEPARTMENT OF
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY
adopted emergency amendments
to the Parts titled Claims,
Adjudication, Appeals and
Hearings (56 IAC 2720; 44 Ill Reg
9262), Employment (56 IAC 2732;
44 Ill Reg 9269) and Recovery of
Benefits (56 IAC 2835; 44 Ill Reg
9274) all effective 5/15/20 for a
maximum of 150 days. Identical
proposed amendments appear in
this week’s Illinois Register at 44
Ill Reg 8601, 8604 and 8607.
These emergency rules implement

provisions of the federal
Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and
Economic Security (CARES) Act
that concern Pandemic
Unemployment Assistance (PUA).
Amendments to Part 2720 allow
DES to post correspondence to
claimaints’ online accounts and
notify them of these
communications by e-mail.
Notices will be sent by U.S. Mail
to claimants who do not provide an
e-mail address or who request
notification by mail. The Part 2732
rulemaking establishes that when
DES determines a claimant’s
eligibility for PUA, it will review the
claimant’s reported wages for the
period for which a claim is being
made. If DES determines that the
claimaint is eligible for PUA, that
does not constitute a
determination that the services
performed during that period are
excluded from the CARES Act’s
definition of employment. A
determination of eligibility for PUA
also does not preclude DES, or a
court of competent jurisdiction,
from determining in the future that
these services did constitute
“employment” under the Act (which
may affect PUA claims for that
period). Finally, amendments to
Part 2835 establish the
percentage of overpaid benefits
that may be reclaimed from various
State and federal unemployment
programs (25% or 50% in non-
fraud cases, 100% in cases of
fraud), and the statute of limitations
for DES to recoup overpaid
benefits (2-5 years in non-fraud
cases, indefinite in cases of fraud).
Persons claiming PUA benefits
are affected by these emergency
rules.

Questions/requests for copies/
comments on the 3 proposed
DES rulemakings through 7/13/
20: Kevin Lovellette, DES, 33 S.
State St., Room 930, Chicago IL
60603, 312/793-1224,
Kevin.Lovellette@illinois.gov

SCHOOL CONSTRUCTION

The STATE BOARD OF
EDUCATION adopted an
emergency amendment to School
Construction Program (23 IAC
151; 44 Ill Reg 9256) effective 5/
15/20 for a maximum of 150 days.
The amendment allows schools
that applied for maintenance
grants after the previously
announced FY 20 application
deadline but before 4/21/20 to
have their applications reviewed
and remain eligible for grants.
Schools that submitted the risk
assessment required by the Grant
Accountability and Transparency
Act before the application
deadline, but that did not submit an
application at that time, are also
eligible to apply through 6/15/20.
School districts seeking SBE
construction grants are affected by
this emergency rule.

Questions/requests for copies:
Azita Kakvand, SBE, 100 N. First
St., Springfield IL 62777-0001,
217/782-6510, rules@isbe.net



4

The following rulemakings were moved to Second Notice this week by the agencies listed below,
commencing the JCAR review period. These rulemakings will be considered at the June 16, 2020
JCAR meeting. Other items not published in the Illinois Register or The Flinn Report may also be
considered. Further comments concerning these rulemakings should be addressed to JCAR using the
contact information on page 1.

POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD

Special Waste Hauling (35 IAC 809; 43 Ill Reg 13361) proposed 11/22/19

STATE EMPLOYEES’ RETIREMENT SYSTEM

The Administration and Operation of the State Employees’ Retirement System of Illinois (80 IAC
1540; 44 Ill Reg 3869) proposed 3/13/20

Second Notices

(cont. from page 2)

Adopted Rules

service). Provider agencies for any
service that have not previously
been certified, or are not in
operation at the time they apply for
certif ication, may receive
provisional certification for up to 2
years, during which they will be
subject to additional DonA
oversight. This provisional
certification will replace current rule
provisions that allow experience
exceptions for providers that are
accredited by recognized national
organizations. Newly established
entities may, in lieu of submitting
audited financial reports for the last
complete fiscal year, submit bank
approved business plans with
approved financial backing, along
with proof that employee tax
accounts have been established
with the State and with the U.S.
Treasury. New for-profit entities

backed entirely by individuals may,
as an alternative to the bank
approved business plan, submit
the most recent 2 years of tax
returns and documentation of bank
approved financial backing for
these individuals. An applying
entity must show that it has
sufficient assets to cover 90 days
of operating expenses for the
service it will provide, and no more
than 30 of those days should be
based on a line of credit. Those
affected by this rulemaking include
businesses and non-profit
agencies seeking to become
certif ied as CCP service
providers.

Questions/requests for copies:
Jason Jordan, DonA, One Natural
Resources Way, #100,
Springfield IL 62702-1271, 217/
7 8 5 - 3 3 7 0 ,
Aging.Rulemaking@illinois.gov

COMMERCIAL  VEHICLES

The DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION adopted an
amendment to Procedures (92
IAC 107; 44 Ill Reg 1814), effective
5/14/20, incorporating by
reference federal regulations (in
effect as of 10/1/19) regarding
registration of hazardous
materials transporters and
registration of manufacturers,
inspectors and repairers of cargo
tanks or cargo vehicles.
Hazardous material haulers and
commercial vehicle inspectors and
repairers may be affected by this
rulemaking.

Questions/requests for copies:
Greg Stucka, DOT, 2300 S.
Dirksen Pkwy., Rm. 317,
Springfield IL 62764.


