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Emergency Rules
Proposed
Rulemaking

ADOPTED RULES:  Rules adopted by agencies this week.  EMERGENCY RULES: Adopted for a temporary period not to exceed 150 days.
PROPOSED  RULES:  Rules proposed by agencies this week, commencing a 45-day First Notice period during which public comments must be accepted.
PEREMPTORY RULES: Rules  adopted without prior public notice or JCAR review as authorized by 5 ILCS 100/5-50.
Designates rules of special interest to small businesses, small municipalities, and not-for-profit corporations.  Agencies are required to consider comments
from these groups and minimize the regulatory burden on them.
QUESTIONS/COMMENTS:  Submit mail, email or phone calls to the agency personnel listed below each summary.
RULE TEXT:  Available on the Secretary of State (www.cyberdriveillinois.com)  and General Assembly (www.ilga.gov) websites under Illinois Register. Second
Notice text (original version with changes made by the agency during First Notice included) is available on the JCAR website.

(cont.  page 2)

FOID & CONCEALED CARRY

The ILLINOIS STATE POLICE
adopted emergency amendments
to the Parts titled Firearm Owners
Identification Card Act (20 IAC
1230; 44 Ill Reg 6166) and
Firearm Concealed Carry Act
Procedures (20 IAC 1231; 44 Ill
Reg 6170), both effective 4/6/20
for a maximum of 150 days. These
emergency rules allow Firearm
Owners Identification (FOID)
Cards and Firearm Concealed
Carry Licenses (FCCLs) that
expire during the Gubernatorial
Disaster Proclamation related to
the COVID-19 pandemic or during
the 12 months after the disaster
proclamation ends to remain valid
if the holder has submitted a
renewal application to ISP and the
card or license is not subject to
revocation under other provisions
of either Act. FOID Cards renewed
by ISP during the disaster
proclamation period will remain

The ILLINOIS GAMING BOARD
proposed amendments to
Riverboat and Casino Gambling
(86 IAC 3000; 44 Ill Reg 5974)
implementing a PA that expands
contracting goals for casino
owner ’s licenses to include
veteran-owned businesses. The
target contracting goals by
business ownership are now 11%
minority, 7%  female, 3% veteran,
and 2% persons with disabilities.
Beginning in 2021, annual
licensee reports of utilization of
minority, female and disability-
owned businesses shall also
include veteran owned
businesses. Small businesses
owned by veterans may be
affected.

Questions/requests for copies/
comments through 6/1/20:
Agostino Lorenzini, IGB, 160 N.
La Salle St., Chicago IL 60601,
igb.legal@igb.illinois.gov

CASINOS

Numerous Executive Orders and
emergency rules have been issued
in response to the COVID-19
pandemic. Executive Orders of the
Governor concerning this
pandemic can be accessed at
https:/ /www2.i l l inois.gov/
government/executive-orders.
Emergency rules adopted by State
agencies will be summarized in
The Flinn Report as they are
published in the Illinois Register.

COVID-19 ACTIONS

valid for 10 years after renewal and
FCCLs renewed during this period
will remain valid for 5 years.

Questions/requests for copies of
the 2 ISP emergency rules: Yvette
C. Loizon, ISP, 801 S. Seventh
St., Suite 1000-S, Springfield IL
62703, 217/782-7658.
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PRISONS

The DEPARTMENT OF
CORRECTIONS adopted an
emergency amendment to the Part
titled Records of Offenders (20
IAC 107; 44 Ill Reg 6091) effective
4/7/20 for a maximum of 150 days.
The emergency rule permits the
Director of DOC to award earned
discretionary sentence credit to
offenders with a record of 100-level
disciplinary offenses while
incarcerated (e.g., serious
infractions such as arson, assault,
possession of dangerous
contraband, or escape attempts)
if the most recent offense occurred
more than 12 months prior to the
Department’s review. (Formerly,
any 100-level disciplinary offense
disqualified an offender from
receiving earned discretionary
sentence credit.) DOC states that
this emergency rule will allow
flexibility to reduce the population
of its facilities in response to the
COVID-19 pandemic.

Questions/requests for copies:
Echo Beekman, DOC, 1301
Concordia Court, PO Box 19277,
Springfield IL 62794-9277, 217./
558-2200 ext. 6507,
echo.beekman@doc.illinois.gov

DPH  LICENSES

The DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC
HEALTH adopted emergency
amendments to Plumbers
Licensing Code (68 IAC 750; 44
Ill Reg 6120), Lead Poisoning
Prevention Code (77 IAC 845; 44
Ill Reg 6130), Asbestos Abatement
for Public and Private Schools and

Commercial and Public Buildings
in Illinois (77 IAC 855; 44 Ill Reg
6136) and Private Sewage
Disposal Code (77 IAC 905; 44 Ill
Reg 6142), all effective 3/31/20 for
a maximum of 150 days. DPH
also adopted an emergency
amendment to School-Based/
Linked Health Centers (77 IAC
641; 44 Ill Reg 6126) effective 4/
2/20 for a maximum of 150 days.
These emergency rules extend
deadlines for renewal of the
following DPH-administered
licenses and certificates to 8/28/
20 due to the COVID-19
pandemic: plumbers’ licenses,
apprentice plumbers’ licenses,
and plumbing inspectors’
certif icates (Part 750); lead
inspection, risk assessment,
mitigation and abatement licenses
(Part 845); asbestos abatement
licenses, course accreditation,
and course certificate renewals
(Part 855); and portable sanitation
businesses and technicians (Part
905). The Part 845 emergency rule
also allows lead case
management and risk
assessments to be conducted by
phone consultation where
possible. The emergency
amendment to Part 641 extends
DPH certification by 150 days for
school-based/linked health
centers whose certification is or
was due to expire before 6/30/20.
Those affected by these
emergency rules include small
businesses and school districts.

Questions/requests for copies of
the 5 DPH emergency rules: Erin
Conley, DPH, 535 W. Jefferson
St., 5th Fl., Springfield IL 62761,
2 1 7 / 7 8 2 - 2 0 4 3 ,
dph.rules@illinois.gov

 UNEMPLOYMENT

The DEPARTMENT OF
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY
adopted an emergency
amendment to Payment of
Unemployment Contributions,
Interest and Penalties (56 IAC
2765; 44 Ill Reg 6099) effective 4/
8/20 for a maximum of 150 days.
An identical proposed
amendment appears in this
week’s Illinois Register at 44 Ill
Reg 5971. The emergency and
proposed rules provide that
business interruptions and
closures due to the COVID-19
pandemic constitute good cause
for waiving any penalties an
employer would otherwise incur for
failing to timely submit February
2020 wage reports to DES. Small
businesses will be affected.

Questions/requests for copies/
comments on the proposed
rulemaking through 6/1/20: Kevin
Lovellette, DES, 33 S. State St.,
Room 930, Chicago IL 60603,
312/793-1224, fax 312/793-5645,
Kevin.Lovellette@illinois.gov

PUBLIC ASSISTANCE

The DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN
SERVICES adopted an
emergency amendment to
General Administrative Provisions
(89 IAC 10; 44 Ill Reg 6107)
effective 4/6/20 for a maximum of
150 days. An identical proposed
amendment appears at 44 Ill Reg
5991. The emergency and
proposed rules allow applicants for
cash assistance, medical
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assistance, or the Supplemental
Nutrition Assistance Program
(SNAP) to verbally assent to an
application by telephone if they
cannot sign an application in
person or submit an electronic
signature meeting the normal
security requirements. DHS states
that this emergency rule allows
Family Community Resource
Centers to handle increased
requests for assistance during the
COVID-19 pandemic.

FUNERALS

DHS also adopted an emergency
amendment to Related Program
Provisions (89 IAC 117; 44 Ill Reg
6114) effective 4/6/20 for a
maximum of 150 days, with an
identical proposed amendment at
44 Ill Reg 5993. This amendment

increases the maximum
reimbursement amount for the
funeral expenses of an eligible
decedent to $1,370 and the
maximum reimbursement amount
for burial or  cremation to $686.
(Reimbursement limits in current
rule are based on inflationary
increases from benchmark
amounts established in 2002.)
Funeral service providers may be
affected.

Questions/requests for copies/
comments on the 2 proposed
DHS rulemakings through 6/1/20:
Tracie Drew, DHS, 100 S. Grand
Ave. East, 3rd Fl., Springfield IL
62762, 217/785-9772.

LIBRARIES

The SECRETARY OF STATE
adopted emergency amendments
to the Parts titled Illinois Library

Adopted Rules

FOSTER HOMES

The DEPARTMENT OF
CHILDREN AND FAMILY
SERVICES adopted amendments
to Licensing Standards for Foster
Family Homes (89 IAC 402; 43 Ill
Reg 7554) effective 4/1/20,
updating and clarifying its foster
home rules to conform to best
practices, existing laws and
national standards. The rulemaking
updates certain definitions;
clarifies that all individuals age 18
and older in a foster family home
must undergo a background
check; and adds or clarifies
various safety restrictions. Foster
parents must sign specif ic

assurances that they understand
and will adhere to restrictions on
smoking, substance use and
corporal punishment; that they will
adhere to “reasonable and
prudent” parenting standards as
defined in rule; and must ensure
that they have safe, legal and
reliable transportation access. All
children residing in the foster home
must have up to date
immunizations according to the
American Academy of Pediatrics’
recommended schedule, and all
adult caregivers must have up to
date immunizations for pertussis
(whooping cough), Tdap (tetanus/
diphtheria/pertussis) and
influenza, unless contraindicated

by their primary care physician. At
least one applicant for foster home
licensure must be able to read and
write at the level necessary to meet
the needs of youth in care. The
name and address of at least one
relative who can attest to the
applicants’ capability to care for a
child or children must be provided
upon application (along with the
three unrelated character
references currently required).
Foster homes must, at a minimum,
have a stove, oven, refrigerator
and sink in the kitchen; a properly
functioning toilet, sink, shower and

System Act (23 IAC 3030; 44 Ill
Reg 6148) and Illinois State Library
Grant Programs (23 IAC 3035; 44
Ill Reg 6157) effective 4/6/20 for a
maximum of 150 days. These
emergency rules suspend Library
System member libraries’ annual
certification process for calendar
year 2020 and extend the 2020
application deadline for library
grants to June 15 (normally April
15). Public library districts will be
affected by these emergency
rules.

Questions/requests for copies of
the 2 SOS emergency rules:
Joseph Natale, SOS/Illinois State
Library, Gwendolyn Brooks Bldg.,
Springfield IL 62701-1796, 217/
558-4185, jnatale@ilsos.net
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tub in the bathroom; a first aid kit
and supplies; a prominently posted
list of emergency telephone
numbers (including poison
control); and an operable,
accessible fire extinguisher. No
person may smoke or use vaping
materials inside a foster family
home or in any vehicle used to
transport a youth in care. Alcoholic
beverages and toxic materials
must be stored where youth cannot
access them. Swimming pools
must be equipped with a life saving
device (e.g., life preserver or life
jacket) approved by the U.S. Coast
Guard for that purpose, and must
have a working pump and filtering
system if the pool cannot be
emptied after each use. Expanded
capacity licenses (allowing a
foster family to care for more than
6 children or to exceed limits on
the number of children below age
2 or age 6) may be granted to allow
a family to keep a child with an
established “meaningful
relationship” in the home, or to
allow a family with special training
or skills to care for a child with a
severe disability. Finally, the
rulemaking lists (in an appendix)
which Sections of the Part contain
non-safety related licensing rules
that can be waived in order to
permit a licensed foster home to
care for a related youth. Changes
since 1st Notice clarify the non-
waivable provisions and also clarify
various restrictions concerning
smoking/vaping, sleeping
arrangements for foster children,
and transportation availability.
Foster families and agencies that
place foster children are affected
by this rulemaking.

Questions/requests for copies:
Jeff Osowski, DCFS, 406 E.
Monroe St., Station #65,
Springfield IL 62701-1498, 217/
524-1983, TTY 217/524-3715,
CFPolicy@idcfs.state.il.us

TOBACCO TAXES

The DEPARTMENT OF
REVENUE adopted amendments
to Cigarette Tax Act (86 IAC 440;
43 Ill Reg 13376), Cigarette Use
Tax Act (86 IAC 450; 43 Ill Reg
13266) and Tobacco Products Tax
Act of 1995 (86 IAC 660; 43 Ill Reg
13687), all effective 4/3/20,
implementing the cigarette tax
increase in Public Act 101-31. The
Part 440 and 450 rulemakings
increase the tax by $1 per pack
from 99 to 149 mills per cigarette
($2.98 per pack of 20 cigarettes)
effective 7/1/19. Revenues
derived from this tax will be
allocated as follows: 4 mills per
month, to the Common School
Fund, not to exceed $9 million per
month; an additional 7 mills per
month to the Common School
Fund (with no limitation); 50 mills
per month to the Healthcare
Provider Relief Fund; and 50 mills
per month to the Capital Projects
Fund.  The rulemaking also
clarifies how cigarette distributors
and retailers are to pay tax on
cigarettes that were in their
possession, but not yet stamped,
on 7/1/19, or if they have tax
stamps in their possession on 7/1
that had not yet been affixed to
cigarette packages. Amendments
to Part 660 raise the tax on “little
cigars” from 99 to 149 mills per
cigar ($1.98 to $2.98 per pack of
20) and add electronic cigarettes

(cont. from page 3) to the list of tobacco products
subject to tax. Products included
in the definition of electronic
cigarettes include vape pens,
pipes, hookahs, and any
component or part that can be
used to construct an electronic
nicotine delivery system.
Electronic cigarettes do not
include products approved by the
federal Food and Drug
Administration as smoking
cessation aids; asthma inhalers;
or therapeutic medical cannabis
smoking devices sold in licensed
dispensaries. Effective 7/1/19,
electronic cigarettes are taxed at
15% of the wholesale price and
retailers selling electronic
cigarettes must obtain a tobacco
retailer or distributor license.
Manufacturers of electronic
cigarettes must obtain both
retailer and distributor licenses if
they meet the definition of a
distributor. Out of State
manufacturers and wholesalers
must also register as distributors
in Illinois if they have any physical
presence in Illinois, such as an
office or sales agents operating
under their authority. Those
affected by these rulemakings
include retailers who sell
cigarettes, little cigars or electronic
cigarettes or devices.

Questions/requests for copies of
the 3 DOR rulemakings: Richard
S. Wolters, DOR, 101 W.
Jefferson St., Springfield IL
62794, 217/782-2844.
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COMMUNITY CARE

The DEPARTMENT ON AGING
adopted amendments to
Community Care Program (89
IAC 240; 43 Ill Reg 14475),
effective 4/3/20, updating its
maximum payment levels for
person-centered plans of care.
Maximum monthly payment rates
are based on the CCP
participant’s Determination of
Need (DON) score. For plans of
care that include in-home care,
effective 1/1/20, monthly payment
rates will range from $547
(formerly, $458) for participants
with a DON score of 29 (the
minimum required to qualify for
CCP) up to $5,200 (formerly,
$4,354) for a DON score of 100.
For plans of care that include adult
day service, effective 12/1/19,
maximum monthly payment rates
range from $1,120 (formerly $706)
for a DON score of 29 to $9,833

(formerly $6,202) for a DON score
of 100.

ABUSE  INVESTIGATION

DonA also adopted amendments
to Adult Protection and Advocacy
Services (89 IAC 270; 44 Ill Reg
1) effective 4/3/20,  implementing
Public Act 101-496, which requires
Adult Protective Services (APS)
agencies to obtain the consent of
an eligible adult (any person age
60+, or age 18-59 with a disability)
to conduct an assessment of an
allegation of abuse, neglect or
financial exploitation of that
person, except when the eligible
adult is unable to seek assistance
for himself/herself and the
allegations are against a paid
caregiver. APS agencies also must
interview immediate family
members of the alleged victim as
part of an assessment. The
rulemaking also allows individuals
or their authorized representatives
to designate up to 3 e-mail

addresses at which electronic
service of documents will be
accepted. These e-mail
addresses must be verif ied
annually and DonA must be
notif ied immediately of any
change. If transmission of a
document to all of an individual’s
designated e-mail addresses
fails, DonA will serve the document
via First Class U.S. Mail to the
individual’s last known mailing
address, or by another means.

Questions/requests for copies of
the 2 DonA rulemakings: Jason
Jordan, DonA, One Natural
Resources Way #100, Springfield
IL 62702-1271, 217/785-3370,
jason.jordan@illinois.gov

Adopted Rules

The following rulemakings were moved to Second
Notice this week by the agencies listed below,
commencing the JCAR review period. The SBE
rulemaking will be will be considered at the April
21, 2020 JCAR meeting while the IEPA and DOI
rulemakings will be considered at the May 19, 2020
meeting. Other items not listed in the Illinois
Register or The Flinn Report may also be
considered. Further comments concerning these
rulemakings should be addressed to JCAR using
the contact information on page 1.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

State Seal of Biliteracy (23 IAC 680; 43 Ill Reg
14636) proposed 12/20/19

Second Notices

IL ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY

Public Participation in the Air Pollution Control
Permit Program (35 IAC 252; 43 Ill Reg 7028)
proposed 6/21/19

DEPT OF INSURANCE

Corporate Governance Annual Disclosure (50 IAC
630; 44 Ill Reg 88) proposed 1/3/20

Pharmacy Benefit Managers (50 IAC 3145; 44 Ill
Reg 2207) proposed 1/31/20

Third Party Prescription Administrators (50 IAC
3150; 44 Ill Reg 2211) proposed 1/31/20

JCAR MEMBERSHIP CHANGE

JCAR welcomes new member
Sen. John F. Curran, R-Downers
Grove. He succeeds Sen. Chuck
Weaver, R-Peoria.


