

January 15, 2020

Governor JB Pritzker 207 Statehouse Springfield, IL 62706

Dear Governor Pritzker:

Pursuant to Public Act 88-593, as amended, at a meeting held on January 10, 2020, the Board of Trustees of the Judges' Retirement System (JRS) certified an FY 2021 State contribution of \$148,618,000, or 94.246% of projected payroll. Of the \$148,618,000, \$34,075,000 is for the employer's portion of the expected FY 2021 normal cost. The additional \$114,543,000 is due to the unfunded liabilities.

Consistent with Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) Statement No. 67, the JRS Board of Trustees adopted a funding policy, or Actuarially Determined Contribution (ADC) policy in 2015. The ADC provides for annual contributions that are equal to the annual normal cost of benefits earned plus amortization of the unfunded actuarial liability over a 25-year period, as a level percent of payroll. The remaining amortization period is 21 years. The FY 2021 ADC is \$173,205,430, or \$24.6 million higher than the amount calculated under the statutory funding plan. The ADC is used in financial reporting but does not affect the certified JRS employer contribution, which is calculated and certified by the Board pursuant to the statutory funding plan.

Attached is the FY 2019 actuarial valuation along with the FY 2021 certification letter prepared by the System's actuaries. The actuarial valuation, membership data used in the valuation, and all calculations were reviewed by the State Actuary.

Very truly yours,

Timothy B. Blain

Timothy Blair Executive Secretary

cc: Governor JB Pritzker, Chicago Office
Susana A. Mendoza, Comptroller
Alexis Sturm, Director, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
Marc Staley, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
Bob Steere, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
Thomas Reitz, Governor's Office of Management & Budget
John Hollman, House Clerk
Brad Bolin, Assistant House Clerk.
Tim Anderson, Senate Clerk
Clayton Klenke, Director, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability
Dan Hankiewicz, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability
Julie Bae, Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability

Senate President John Cullerton Senate Republican Leader Bill Brady Speaker of the House Michael Madigan Republican Leader Jim Durkin Jessica Basham, Speaker's Office Andrew Freiheit, House Republican Staff Kristin Richards, Senate President's Office Phil Draves, Senate Republican Staff Becky Locker, Senate President's Office Ozie Goodwin, Senate President's Office Noe Chaimongkol, Senate President's Office Mark Jarmer, House Democratic Staff Mike Mahoney, House Republican Staff Joe Sculley, House Republican Staff Erik Dillman, Senate Republican Staff Nick McNeely, Senate Republican Staff Rich Rockwood, Senate Republican Staff Mary Cahill, House Democratic Staff Erion Malasi, House Democratic Staff