

HR0963 LRB100 21453 MST 38094 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the members of the 4 Washington Community High School wrestling team on their 5 unbelievably successful 2017-2018 season; and

WHEREAS, The team brought home the fourth consecutive state
wrestling trophy in Washington Community High School history
with their 3rd team state championship at the Class 2A state
meet; and

10 WHEREAS, The team had nine Class 2A state qualifiers and 11 placers from Washington Community High School, including one 12 state champion; and

WHEREAS, Abe Hinrichsen, a freshman, was 2nd place at 106 lbs.; Joey Cape, a freshman, was 2nd place at 113 lbs.; Zeke Hulet, a sophomore, was 5th place at 120 lbs.; Tyler Delaware, a senior, was 2nd place at 132 lbs.; Blaize Punke, a senior, was 3rd place at 145 lbs.; Dalton Jensen, a senior, was 3rd place at 152 lbs.; Jared Head, a junior, was 2nd place at 160 lbs.; Garett Rich, a senior, was 4th place at 170 lbs.; and Jace Punke, a junior, was a state champion at 285 lbs.; and

WHEREAS, The Dual Team completed their season with a record

HR0963

- 1 of 27 and 4 and qualified for the Dual Team Tournament by
- winning the Class 2A Metamora Regional; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The Dual Team had an impressive list of
- 4 accomplishments during their Dual Team Illinois High School
- 5 Association State Series: they defeated LaSalle-Peru in the
- 6 sectional 54 to 15, Woodstock (Marian) in the quarter-finals 42
- 7 to 25, Chicago (St. Rita) in the semifinals 59 to 9, and
- 8 Cahokia in the finals 59 to 12; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The team also won the Sycamore Invitational, the
- 10 Mid-Illini Conference Championship for the 9th consecutive
- 11 year, extending their Mid-Illini record, and were regional
- 12 champions for eight out of nine years; and
- 13 WHEREAS, The members of the Dual Team state roster include
- 14 Steven Apgar, Blake Barry, Caleb Bradle, Joey Cape, Dylan
- 15 Cooper, Tyler Delaware, Jaxon Ellis, Justin Fernald, Jared
- 16 Head, Abe Hinrichsen, Zeke Hulet, Hayden Jackson, Dalton
- Jensen, Kennedy Koehl, Hunter Mamer, Chaz Mercer, Brody Norman,
- 18 Blaize Punke, Jack Punke, Garett Rich, Gabe Robison, and Alex
- 19 Zimmerman; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Nick Miller is the team's head coach; the team's
- 21 assistant coaches include Brandon Rice, Doug McClister, Matt
- Webster, and Mike Carr; and

- 1 WHEREAS, The members of the Washington Community High
- 2 School wrestling team serve as models of hard work, integrity,
- 3 and dedication for the people of the State of Illinois;
- 4 therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 6 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
- 7 congratulate the members of the Washington Community High
- 8 School wrestling team on their unbelievably successful
- 9 2017-2018 season, and we wish them continued success and
- 10 happiness in the future; and be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 12 presented to the Washington Community High School wrestling
- team and their coaches as a symbol of our esteem and respect.