STATE OF ILLINOIS



HOUSE JOURNAL

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

1ST LEGISLATIVE DAY

FIFTEENTH SPECIAL SESSION

SUNDAY, AUGUST 12, 2007

5:07 O'CLOCK P.M.

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Daily Journal Index 1st Legislative Day

Action	Page(s)
Adjournment	4
Fifteenth Special Session Proclamation	3
Ouorum Roll Call	3

The House met pursuant to a proclamation from the Governor to convene Special Session.

Representative Hannig in the chair.

Prayer by Doorkeeper of the House Lee A. Crawford, who is the Pastor of the Cathedral of Praise Christian Center in Springfield, IL.

Representative Poe led the House in the Pledge of Allegiance.

By direction of the Speaker, a roll call was taken to ascertain the attendance of Members, as follows: 6 present. (ROLL CALL 2)

Representative Hannig announced that a quorum of the members is not present.

By unanimous consent, Representatives Bassi, Beaubien, Bellock, Biggins, Black, Bost, Brady, Coladipietro, Cole, Collins, Coulson, Cross, Cultra, Currie, Dunn, Durkin, Eddy, Fortner, Hassert, Kosel, Krause, Leitch, Lindner, Mathias, McAuliffe, Meyer, Jerry Mitchell, Moffitt, Mulligan, Munson, Myers, Osmond, Pihos, Pritchard, Ramey, Reboletti, Reis, Rose, Sacia, Saviano, Schmitz, Schock, Sommer, Stephens, Sullivan, Tracy, Wait, Watson and Winters were excused from attendance.

PROCLAMATION

07-266

WHEREAS, the Regional Transit Authority (RTA) is the financial oversight and regional planning body for the three public transit operators in northeastern Illinois: the Chicago Transit Authority (CTA), Metra commuter rail and Pace suburban bus; and

WHEREAS, the RTA is an important public asset that generates an annual economic impact of more than \$12 billion to the State of Illinois; and

WHEREAS, over two million riders per day use the CTA, Metra commuter rail and Pace suburban bus; and

WHEREAS, downstate public transportation provides access to health care, the work place, and educational activities for individuals in illinois' many downstate communities; and

WHEREAS, strengthening Illinois' transit system will enhance residents' quality of life by reducing pollution as well as traffic congestion; and

WHEREAS, revenues to support transit are not keeping up with increased maintenance, repair and transit costs potentially necessitating additional State funding; and

WHEREAS, the Illinois Constitution requires the General Assembly to make appropriations for the expenditure of public funds for the fiscal year for State departments, authorities, and public agencies;

THEREFORE, pursuant to Article IV, Section 5 (b) of the Illinois Constitution of 1970, 1 hereby call and convene the 95" General Assembly, in duly constituted quorums capable of conducting business, in a special session to commence on August 12,2007, at 5:15 p.m. to consider funding for the Regional Transportation Authority, the Chicago Transit Authority, and downstate public transportation.

s/ROD BLAGOJEVICH Governor At the hour of 5:10 o'clock p.m., Representative Bill Mitchell moved that the House do now adjourn until Monday, August 13, 2007, in perfunctory session.

The motion prevailed.

And the Fifteenth Special Session stood adjourned.

STATE OF ILLINOIS NINETY-FIFTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY HOUSE ROLL CALL FIFTEENTH SPECIAL SESSION QUORUM ROLL CALL FOR ATTENDANCE

August 12, 2007

0 YEAS	0 NAYS	6 PRESENT	
A Acevedo	A Dugan	E Krause	E Reboletti
A Arroyo	A Dunkin	A Lang	E Reis
E Bassi	E Dunn	E Leitch	A Reitz
E Beaubien	E Durkin	E Lindner	A Riley
A Beiser	E Eddy	A Lyons	A Rita
E Bellock	A Feigenholtz	E Mathias	E Rose
A Berrios	A Flider	A Mautino	A Ryg
E Biggins	A Flowers	A May	E Sacia
E Black	A Ford	E McAuliffe	E Saviano
A Boland	E Fortner	A McCarthy	E Schmitz
E Bost	A Franks	A McGuire	E Schock
A Bradley, John	A Fritchey	A Mendoza	A Scully
A Bradley, Richard	A Froehlich	E Meyer	A Smith
E Brady	A Golar	A Miller	E Sommer
P Brauer	A Gordon	P Mitchell, Bill	A Soto
A Brosnahan	A Graham	E Mitchell, Jerry	E Stephens
A Burke	A Granberg	E Moffitt	E Sullivan
A Chapa LaVia	A Hamos	A Molaro	E Tracy
E Coladipietro	P Hannig	E Mulligan	P Tryon
E Cole	A Harris	E Munson	A Turner
E Collins	E Hassert	E Myers	A Verschoore
A Colvin	A Hernandez	A Nekritz	E Wait
E Coulson	P Hoffman	E Osmond	A Washington
A Crespo	A Holbrook	A Osterman	E Watson
E Cross	A Howard	A Patterson	E Winters
E Cultra	A Jakobsson	A Phelps	A Yarbrough
E Currie	A Jefferies	E Pihos	A Younge
A D'Amico	A Jefferson	P Poe	A Mr. Speaker
A Davis, Monique	A Joyce	E Pritchard	
A Davis, William	E Kosel	E Ramey	

E - Denotes Excused Absence